We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I happen to like the dark.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mud Bugs

Mud Bugs
Ranked #104 of 154 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: 4 Blocks from the beach on your right hand side going north on hwy 59
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I happen to like the dark.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am from gulf shores. I know what all it has to offer, and have been going here for years. It's pretty dark, but that is what makes the atmosphere. It's not the hang out, or live bait it's the bug. The drinks are a good price, and I always have a good time. The bartenders are friendly and the locals are friendly. This is the spot that people in the service industry go when they get done with a long day. This is a good place to unwind.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    10
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Scary!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I don't know if we went at the wrong time, but we were freaked out by this place. It was very dark and looked like a strip club. It looked shady. The weird thing was that our waiter at another restaurant recommended it for nightlife. He also said that the food was good. Maybe we just didn't give it a chance, but if you are looking for elegant cocktails on the pier, this is not the place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacheroftigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamil M, Owner at Mud Bugs, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We're sorry you were intimidated by our atmosphere; we pride ourselves on being different from the trendy, overly-priced 'cocktails by the pier' bars that you see so often in beach towns. We'd love for you to come give us another try the next time you're up for seeing the most interesting characters in town and dancing your butt off....we'll even give ya a flashlight if our dark bar scares ya too much :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Pig roast and more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Looking for oysters stopped here. Shucker not in yet but pig roast was ready. Fair!! Typical resort bar dark, dirty and loaded with locals. Beer cold but would not return!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamil M, Owner at Mud Bugs, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Unfortunately our 'shucker' started at 3pm, sorry you missed out...we have AMAZING oysters; we hope you'll come back sometime and get to sample them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etowah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“alright”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Good people and food. Just the music was not all the best that nite. Techno music is ok but change it up a little.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RuebushKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Too bad there's not a 0!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Cause that's what they'd get!! Sign outside said Oysters 6.00 a dozen...None available, because " the kitchen was closed" at 3 in the afternoon!! This dark place seemed to be needing a GOOD cleaning..and maybe some new staff members!! The friendly people of AL did not work here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank chicfrenchweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamil M, Owner at Mud Bugs, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Sorry that your experience seemed to be less than stellar. During the winter months we only offered food during the late afternoons and evening...no lunch was available. The bar is a dark bar because we are a late night dancing and karaoke spot for locals and visitors alike. We'd love for you to come back sometime and dance the night away with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mud Bugs also viewed

Gulf Shores, AL
Gulf Shores, AL
 
Gulf Shores, AL
Gulf Shores, AL
 

Been to Mud Bugs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing