We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always busy but worth the wait”

Original Oyster House
Ranked #9 of 161 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always busy but worth the wait”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is the largest restaurant in Gulf Shores,but one of the best.Great bar while you wait.This place has a great menu from gumbo to fried or broiled seafood.The salad bar is always stocked with many selections to complement the seafood selections.The oysters are my favorite ,fried,broiled,or raw.

Preston Lawley

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Preston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    978
    644
    304
    130
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“baked oysters--great. Rest just fair”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had the baked oysters sampler and it was 1st class. I very literally licked the plate. The rest of our food was fair--not great. My wife had crab claws, they were nothing special. My son had fried shrimp which was also very pedestrian. I had grouper and it was ok, but not great. The portion sizes were huge, but I would have preferred better quality (I am 6'5" and 230# so I don't wish for smaller portions often)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ma6907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a must for us every trip to the area. Best food and value around. You can't go wrong ordering anything on the menu. But we're partial to the shrimp.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TN_PaulNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Troy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the Oyster House!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We generally eat at the Oyster House at least one time when we are in Gulf Shores. We enjoy their salad bar, menu variety and love the gumbo! The Oyster House has a great view and a very casual atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheilyNiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great oysters at The Original Oyster House”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I love my oystesrs, fried, baked or raw, and this is a good place to get your fill. And the gumbo is terrific. I even went back and bought a quart for dinner a few nights after eating dinner there. Will definitely go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howza1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Original Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing