We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and atmosphere”

Original Oyster House
Ranked #9 of 161 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good food and atmosphere. Wait time is usually outrageous, however usually worth it. Salad bar is good. Seafood is fresh. We are usually a large party and servers are good and patient.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Dubs_in_MGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    978
    644
    304
    130
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We love coming to this restaurant every time we are near. The food is always fresh, the salad bar wonderful, great sweet iced tea, and the service is impeccable. There are a few shops nearby, too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am from WA (state) and enjoy every oppurtunity I have to come to the Mobile/Gulf Shores area to enjoy the food ....especially raw oysters.
I was spoiled by a few places starting a few years ago....Original Oyster House on the causeway in Mobile, Witzells on Dauphin and Rich's in Biloxi.
We went to the Oyster house in Gulf Shores today.
ELEVEN bucks for a dozen oysters!!!! Sure, they were tasty but none one was bigger than a 1/2 dollar.
I had a salad bar add on for $2.50 and my wife had the bar for $6.50.
Most of the veggies were turning brown, but not the peas!!! They were frozen solid.
Not only will we not return to this location, we are done with all the properties in this chain.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vancouverTraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Frozen fish from Asia”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was told by one of their previous managers they have a cold storage warehouse in Mobile where they store the seafood imported from Asia - not exactly what one would expect at a restaurant by the Gulf of Mexico!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank J0hnnyBahama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We always enjoy our visits to the original oyster house. Their peanut butter pie is the best! And our service was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SleepDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Original Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing