We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient”
Review of Mikee's Seafood

Mikee's Seafood
Ranked #20 of 161 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Casual Family Dining Since 1987!
Marshall, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“convenient”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I went to Mikee's for lunch after someone told us it was good. We had no wait time as there were plenty of empty tables in the early afternoon. The decor was typical beach theme and the staff were courteous. We got shrimp po-boys. My wife just ate the shrimp out of hers. They were okay, but we didn't return to Mikee's during the rest of the week we were in Gulf Shores.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keepmovin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    241
    137
    56
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yummy Seafood in the Rain”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A thunderstorm ran us off the beach early evening, so we decided to go on and eat dinner. It's a good thing we arrived early, because we had no wait time before the six of us were seated. However, the place quickly filled and when we left there was a long wait line. The cheese-sticks were the largest I've ever seen, the new potatoes the best ever and the seafood very fresh and amazing. I expect a beach seafood restaurant to smell like seafood and have a charming ambience...which Mikee's delivers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nmoore84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Our Favorite for 20 Years!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Locally Family Owned Mikee's is ALWAYS great!

Their menu is varied for seafood lovers or land lovers. All seafood and fish can be prepared any way any one could imagine: Steamed, fried, blackened, pan grilled and sautéed. Catch your own fish and they will gladly cook it for you and serve bowls of their yummy sides with it.

Their Alfredo's are fabulous and their homemade salad dressings are wonderful.

In the winter, it is a Locals and Snowbirds " Cheers", where everybody (especially the staff) knows your name!

The food NEVER tastes manufactured, because it is not! During the summer, as in all Beach Towns, their is a wait. Don't worry! It is worth every minute!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tootsis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Food is all fried. Dark, are they hiding something? They boast being in business since 80's, the place smell like its not been cleaned since then, and decor is just as bad. First thing out of my mouth was "where is that man who cleans up restaurant on TV

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingran_shtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Last day in Gulf Shores and we had been stuck in by several days of rain during the busy 4th of July week. Decided last minute to grab a last dinner out before we left. All of the restaurants on the main street had long waits of 1-2 hours. We noticed Mikees off the main road and decided to give it a try.

First surprise, only about a 20 minute wait, although the small place was full and people were coming and going.

Small place with lots of stuff to look at while you wait, tiny bar area and very small walkway for the staff from the kitchen to the tables. We were comfortably seated and a waitress got right to our drink order.

Our dinners consisted of a shrimp Po boy sandwich, fried shrimp, a couple of orders of crablegs and an appetizer of fried clams. The clams were great! Nicely breaded and tender, no rubbery clams strips here! Sandwich was declared a winner, and everyone was happy with their choices. The crinklecut fries are kinda old school, but my husband loved them. Hushpuppies and corn fritters were a nice touch. Our waitress was very attentive and flexible and made our casual dining experience a treat. A to-go order of fried oysters arrived perfectly timed with our check so we were able to take them back to a family member who wasn't with us. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkcandclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikee's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Mikee's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing