We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, interesting place”
Review of Mikee's Seafood

Mikee's Seafood
Ranked #20 of 161 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Description: Casual Family Dining Since 1987!
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, interesting place”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Mikee's was packed the day we ate there. There had been a BOGO coupon in the newspaper and everyone was taking advantage of it. We had about a 20 minute wait which gave us the opportunity to look at the pictures of the hurricane Ivan (2004) and the damage it had done; there's a watermark about 5 feet up on the wall where the water had risen to.

It was worth the wait. The wait staff handled the two of us very well even though our waitress was also handling a table of 12. We had the seafood medley (shrimp, crawfish, scallops over rice). It was very tasty although It was mostly shrimp with a scallop or two.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyerInMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    233
    132
    53
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
513 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stopped for an early dinner because we had a BOGO coupon, plus a gifr certificate. Probably won't go back. Friendly staff but waiter wasn't that great. He brought our hot bread but no butter and had to ask. He took my salad plate, along with my knife and had to ask for another one.He wasn't sure of the drink specials for the day. Had he mentioned he was new, all would be forgiven. Food was OK. The lettuce in the dinner salad needed cutting but was difficult in the dish it was served in. My husband ordered "seasoned cabbage" and was surprised to get coleslaw. He had fried clam dinner and I ordered a Mikee's Chicken (chicken and shrimp over rice). Both were edible but nothing OMG. Great daily drink specials.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mounds, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stay on the beach”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you like seafood you need to try this place.I had the seafood platter an it was more than I could eat.My wife had the shrimp an it was amazing too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigMike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“THE BEST Seafood in the Gulf Shores / Orange Beach area!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We eat at Mikee's Seafood often because it is THE BEST Seafood (and the best price) in the Gulf Shores / Orange Beach Alabama area. When we have family and friends visit from out of the area we take them to Mikee's Seafood - they usually request a repeat visit to Mikee's before leaving and it's FIRST on the list for repeat guests.

The atmosphere is NOT fancy - the wait staff is unpretentious and the food is EXCELLENT.

"nuff said" :-)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dottie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average Food, Great Waitrees!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Another one of those fried food places that a lot of snowbirds gravitate to. Smelled "fried" the minute you walked in the door. Lobby area carpet was very dirty but each & every tray of food coming from the kitchen went through there.
Highlight was our waitress Viktoriya. Just so friendly and right on the ball..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicfrenchweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikee's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Mikee's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing