We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beignets this side of New Orleans”

Cafe Beignets of Alabama
Ranked #62 of 161 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best beignets this side of New Orleans”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I always make it a point to stop by when we are in Gulf Shores which is usually a several times a year to pick up several orders of their beignets and take back to our condo. Always fresh and hot and the staff has always been friendly to us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    72
    30
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

A little wait but worth it!! Made fresh and very friendly.. Will be returning in the future!! Advise everyone to go and try them..

Helpful?
Thank monk688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trophy Club, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth a morning stop!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We had not had a beignet in years, wanted to share the delight with our teens. This little gem is in a strip shopping center, nothing fancy. They keep it simple here, 3 to an order and cooked while you wait - so worth the short wait! Try them plain with lots of powdered sugar or if you have a sweeter tooth, they offer a vanilla filled with chocolate syrup or lemon filled with strawberry syrup. Simple menu and fresh. At our teens request, we made a second stop days later - this was a family favorite!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nativetexan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We vacationed in Gulf Shores recently and happened up on this cafe on our way to Fort Morgan. It has been years since I had a beignet and wanted to share it with my daughter. Their air conditioning had gone out so they were miserably hot but that did not influence their hospitality one bit. Everyone was so friendly and the beignets were delicious! We will definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Mommy2Autumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We ordered two dozen to take back to our house for breakfast one morning and they were awesome. Not sure what's wrong with people and their negative reviews about the staff. The beignets are made to order. They come out hot and are as good as anything in New Orleans. They serve one thing here; beignets. They only take cash. $3 for and order of 3 plain, $5 for and order of 3 stuffed. It's not hard. It's a hole in the wall in a shopping center about a mile or so up 59 from the beach. The ordering is a little like ordering from Yev Kassem, but once you taste the delicious powdery treat, you will run up the street like Newman with a fresh bowl of jambalaya.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Beignets of Alabama also viewed

 
Gulf Shores, AL
 

Been to Cafe Beignets of Alabama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing