We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What happened?”
Review of Papa Rocco's

Papa Rocco's
Ranked #23 of 155 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have always loved Papa Roco's and have been going for 15 years! They have the absolute BEST pizza in the area! We have always gotten their Cajun and Alfredo oysters as appetizers and because they were so fantastic we looked forward to them as much if not more than the pizza. This visit however left us sorely disappointed. They oysters were awful. They tasted a bit off and the toppings had changed and been scaled back. They added bread crumbs in hopes of stretching them so they were not as flavorful and definitely not as cheesy in the case of they Alfredo ones. They are not cheap so when we ordered 4 of them, needless to say we were sorely disappointed and felt ripped off. We will go back for pizza but will skip the oysters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LibertysTears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    206
    99
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alvin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had read some of the negative reviews on Tripadvisor but decided to try the place on the advice of a friend. We loved the pizza. Not sure why this place gets any negative reviews. The place is small and a hole in the wall type dive but we like that. The wait on a Saturday night was about 30 minutes which wasn't bad. The service was very friendly and we really enjoyed our pizza.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bretsewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lousy food...SAY WHAT!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Can't speak of the rest if the food but the pizza was The BOMB!!! Yup I said it! Great place to eat pizza. Would eat there again and again and again and again and...........

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReconScout2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomasville, mo
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“burgers and pizza looked good”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My son-in law had a burger and it looked good. the girls both had pasta and said it was awesome. My husband and I split nachos and wings and both were average at best.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing pizza and oysters”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ordered two pizzas and the Cajun oysters. The pizza was so good. It is a basic hand tossed crust with a distinct salty, yeasty taste. The toppings are generous and the sauce is flavorful. My husband and oldest daughter said the baked Cajun oysters were the best thing they ate all week.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Rocco's also viewed

 

Been to Papa Rocco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing