We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$218
$198
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms(Gulf Shores)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores(Gulf Shores)(Great Value!)
$187
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Gulf Shores)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveler rating
309
147
47
30
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
309
147
47
30
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage hideawaycoast restaurantoff the beaten pathcatalina buildingfort morgankids activitiesmain poolice cream shopbeautiful resortthrough vrbochairs and umbrellasgreat family vacationbath condospring breakpools were niceoff seasonminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 558 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Beautiful place. Huge property with 4 pools, fine dining restaurant, ice cream shop, casual dining with with game room, The Village Lawn area with 4 food carts, live music and lawn games at night. Rooms were beautiful and so clean.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GoingOnVacation_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

We have been to the Beach Club before, and honestly last time were not wow'ed but summer snuck up on us and we didn't have time to look for something else so thought we'd give them another shot. We booked our room online and some time later something happened and it was no longer available. What a bummer! They automatically put us in another room that was HIDEOUS so I called and said that wouldn't work. The guy on the phone took the time to search through several options, and at the end of the day we had to switch dates completely to make the week stay work in the type of room we wanted.

We arrived on our check in day after 12 hours in the car to discover the guy had completely messed up our reservation. He had booked us for the next day! Not only that but we had requested 2 beach chairs for the week, which he somehow booked for 2 days for 4 chairs instead on a completely different week than when we would be there (apparently my card had been charged then refunded for it despite me specifically saying DO NOT keep that card on file). We had also asked for a midweek clean. The main front desk girls clearly are not in a position to handle issues and I was starting to get very upset so a manager finally came out. She had to review the notes and the call before getting approval to make the situation right but after a while she did finally find us another room for that night and then said she had put the chairs & clean back on which eventually were comped for us.

The stuck us for night 1 in room D809. The decor was cute but the room itself was awful. The plumbing fixtures and door handles were all loose and the bed was hard as a rock. We could have never stayed in there more than 1 week. We decided the next morning to go down to the beach to wait for our actual room to be ready. Once we got there we realized that chairs were not reserved and he wanted to charge me about 2x as much as they should have been! We did not bring our own chairs and umbrella like we did last time because we wanted to use the beach chairs so he allowed us to use one set for the day while they again tried to figure out what in the world was going on. I was so mad. Eventually I called the girl at the front desk who told me to charge the chairs to the room and then she would have them comped that way. Since the reservation hadn't shown up with the original booking, we were shoved way down at the end by where the jetski rentals are. UGH awful spot! As the day goes on, the jetskis move further and further down encroaching on the swimming area. More on that later...

Around 1:00 they finally got us in our room so we moved everything down on our own... had it been a hotel, someone would have done this, but nope. If this happens to you, be aware that your code for the spare room becomes inactive when your real room is ready so if you forget something in that first trip you have to ask for a new code.

Our room D102 was very nice. Honestly the best part of our trip. The decor was great, and the bed comfortable. There were plenty of cooking supplies in the kitchen. And on day 2 they came and pruned the shrubs around the patio so we actually had a view. We enjoyed the room a lot. The one issue is that they don't actually give you enough toilet paper or trash bags for a family of 4 for the week so we had to request more. And the master bedroom gets REALLY HOT at night. Sleep with the door open for air flow.

Our experience with the beach staff was rough. The website advertised drink services on the beach and not to bring a cooler. Thank God we brought one from the car ride because they don't actually offer the service. The first of several false advertisements we found. The jet ski crew must have had family visiting because if he wasn't driving the banana boat he was on the beach with a huge group of loud people, or in the pool with them drinking all afternoon. At one point on maybe the 4th day on the beach, they had encroached so far into the swimming area that they nearly ran over some kids!!! Then he tried to get on to the dad for being in his way when the dad pointed out how far off he was from their flags. Absolutely zero consideration for anyone's safety... just wanted to look cool and show off. Another afternoon some people came and propped their own chairs and umbrellas right in from of the rental chairs and camped out. Now, the whole reason we rented the chairs was because last year we had to sit so far back and off to the side that we couldn't see our kids in the water. We felt renting the chairs we a good value. So, I got up and went to the chair guys and shared with them what happened and he said "Yeah... I told her if someone complained to them they'd have to move." Then just stared at me... so I asked him to say something to her and he never did. Frankly, had we known this was acceptable we would have brought our own chairs!

The pool experience was so so very bad! Last year we loved the main pool and spent most afternoons there, getting lunch at the grill and letting the kids play. This year, the jet ski guy and crew would come take over around 3:00 and literally over run the pool. They brought their own coolers with alcohol (something my husband was told he couldn't do) and never got out of the water, blocking everyone else's kids from playing... and lord knows they didn't get out to use the restroom either. They were loud, used foul language, and saved lounge chairs that they never sat in. The craft area was poorly run by girls who never looked up from their cell phones and totally over run. Basically the pool was incredibly understaffed and not managed at all.

We did enjoy the restaurant at the front, ice cream shop, gift shop and village lawn. Just a note that if you choose to eat at the food trucks, its really expensive for what you get. But the atmosphere up there is fun and a great time for the kids in the evening. I cannot say the same for the club house restaurant. See my separate review on that. One of the worst dining experiences I've had and another complete false advertisement!

For the amount of money we spent this place just isn't worth it. It's sad because the actual property is beautiful and really could be incredible if it was properly managed. We will not be back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
12  Thank JDubois0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

The Beach Club is an amazing property! We enjoyed the four pools and hot tubs. Property was kept very clean. We felt very safe letting our older children walk throughout the property and beach by themselves.
101C was a great condo for our family! The ground floor was perfect! When coming back from the beach, we could leave all our sandy toys and chairs on the patio without dragging them through the condo. This also allowed more space for our younger children to play outside. The end unit was nice because there was not a lot of foot traffic. The patio furniture could be updated.
The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of towels for a family of six. The kitchen lacked some basic utensils and the pans are in need of updating. The trash chute is located outside the front door so sometimes it was stinky.
Overall, this property and condo were wonderful. However, we were not very satisfied with the rental company. We rented through VRBO with Liquid Life. When we arrived there were dirty dishes on the counter and the condo was infested with gnats. I immediately informed the rental company and they said they would create a work order for someone to come out. We stayed for a week and nobody ever showed up. We ended up driving into town twice to purchase spray to get rid of the gnats. We never could get rid of them and there weren't just a few. I'm talking hundreds, they would cover anything we left on the counter. We had to keep our bread and bags of chips in the refrigerator. Really annoying!
We would definitely stay at the Beach Club again! The condo was amazing, minus the constant swatting of bugs in your face! Based of off location on the property, we would stay at this condo again.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Travel_lovin_momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

Bristol 1005 was an absolute filthy, trashy condo. We have been to this resort for years and will never be back. The pictures don't even begin to describe how dirty this unit is. Don't let the modern decor fool you, like it did us.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

My family has been a guest at the Beach Club for many years with exceptional condos. However, this year we rented a cottage, (# 30) and the need of more space. It was not clean is an understatement. Housekeeping and maintenance were called upon arrival. Broken blinds, filthy kitchen floors, counters, broken dishwasher,(the 2nd day), sand and trashy floors, unsecure patio doors, filthy barbecue grill. We appreciated the attempt to wipe down the kitchen and sweep a couple of floors. Despite all this, we enjoyed the beach and all the other amenities at the Resort. Just beaware of Cottage 30 and the pictures were not truthful. I should have known by the big gap in reviews on vrbo for this condo. Just being honest and left some out.

Room Tip: Rentals by owners and then rentals managed by Spectrum Resort. Either way has its pros and cons. Read the reviews!
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joy238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews