We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you haven't been to this Class AAA place - GO.”
Review of The Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I have been going to the Beach Club every other year or so - at least four times since 2004, maybe five. We paid for our daughter and her husband to go and have recommended it to friends. It is in a very island-like area and is quiet and well away from the commercial glow. The facilities are well kept and well thought out especially five pools, walkway which connects the three boardwalks to the beach, and the beach itself. We love it and will continue to go back again and again, especially in late Spring and early Fall. It has something for everyone: Tennis, Spa, Beach, Clubhouse, Free Movies, on site dining sort of fomal and informal as well, activities for the kids, and adults. We love just hanging out, doing very little but strolling on the beach AM and PM, reading by the pool, and swimming a little every now and then. The proximity to historic sites, shopping, and dining out are great. It is so laid back there and it is near a National Wildlife Refuge so it is in a very pretty setting. Overall the units are well kept and have good TV,VCR, Cable channels etc in multiple rooms.

Room Tip: Look at the Spectrum Resorts web site - they have pictures of every room so you can find furnishings...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for The Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 492 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at The Beach Club recently for my son's wedding. We had a 1 bedroom unit in the Catalina Building which was quite comfortable. I visited in two other 1 br. units that were actually more nicely decorated than ours. All the units have a large balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico with awesome views. From our third floor unit we also had beautiful views of the pools, dunes and beach. The kitchen was fully stocked and there were plenty of towels, although there was no room service during our stay.

Check in was easy as I did advance check in on line, and we did not arrive early. The staff were very accommodating at check in and check out. We were quite busy with wedding activities during our stay so didn't have a lot of free time to enjoy the resort. On Thursday the beach tiki bar was closed, but it was open over the weekend. It doesn't seem possible for anyone to get checked in early at all. My daughter tried to get in a little early but was continually told that the room wasn't ready or cleared by housekeeping. When she went to the room, the door was ajar and it was clean. I believe they just don't want to let anyone check in early. Even my son, the groom, couldn't get his room until 2 p.m. on the wedding day, with the wedding at 5:30 p.m., even though it was part of his package. That was really our only issue.

The wedding itself was held poolside. It was a gorgeous set up with the reception held on the veranda. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. Staff was all over cleaning up, serving, opening doors, etc. I do believe my son and new daughter in law had a good deal of grief dealing with the staff in the months preceding the wedding, but no one would have known it on the wedding day. The weather was perfect and we were able to swim in the ocean even in October.

I would like to stay at the Beach Club again. The location is the main problem, as it is 11 miles from Gulf Shores proper and there isn't much nearby in the way of things to do or places to eat. However, once you get there you have everything you need, and it is quiet and on a beautiful beach. We did take a taxi one night to the FloraBama, about a 30 minute drive, and it cost $65 one way!

The resort is beautiful but seems to need a tiny bit of upkeep. Our particular unit (302C) was showing a little wear and tear but was still very nice. Due to the beauty of the beach, lovely weather and a happy occasion, we had a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: The view is better on the lower floors, and not as much riding on the elevators. We liked staying i...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have visited the Beach Club for the last three years and each visit is better than before. This year we stayed in a 3 bedroom condo in the Bristol Towers and it was great. The reservationist and check-in staff were excellent. We loved the private beach and the pools. It is a distance from HWY 59. So, plan ahead for any trips into Gulf Shores.

Room Tip: We were concerned about being on higher floors, but no problems and excellent view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C J x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My sister and I just got back from a week in Gulf Shores, AL, at a condo at The Beach Club. My employer owns one of the condos, and she rented it to us for the week. When we arrived, the first thing that impressed us was the security at the entrance. Not one car gets by without stopping at that shack and telling what their business is there. We were in the Doral building. There isn't an abundance of handicapped parking, but we were able to get a spot each day. And, what other reviewers have said is true - there is no shortage of dragonflies and mosquitoes to be had. The first night we were there, on the ride up in the elevator, my sister and I both found mosquitoes on our hands. When we tried to shake/blow them off, they wouldn't budge, so I knocked my hand up against the elevator wall and the blood from both me and it splattered the wall. I was a little put off, but not enough not to enjoy the wonderful view from our balcony and the beatiful condo. The folks at the guard shack were pleasant, and any employee that we encountered during our stay was polite. We were a little disappointed to find that no local pizza places deliver to The Beach Club, and while we were told that The Pines would, they never answered the phone, so we still don't know if they do or not, but since we have decided not to call them again or go there if we should come back, it's not important. You are quite a bit off of 59, but it's well worth it, and the drive back up to 59 is not bad at all, and is filled with scenery. We have already reserved the boss's condo again next year and we look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I recently attended a friend's wedding at the beach club. The beach club is a nice property, but two things make us very leery of returning. The first problem we encountered was that the front office was very rude and condescending to us. They told us that our room had not been released by the house keeping staff and we would have to wait until then. Since our group was renting several units we decided to take our luggage and set it outside the door and wait patiently. Three hours later at 4pm exactly we were told we could come back to the front desk to pick up our key cards. Specifically we were told that housekeeping had just finished with our room. Well they must have the power of invisibility and the ability to walk through solid objects as there was always one of us present and that door never opened. My meaning is that our room was ready before we got there, but they decided that we could not enter it until 4pm.

The next problem we ran into was the ever present bug population. My wife's favorite thing to do while staying at the beach is to leave the sliding glass door slightly ajar so that we can listen to the sound of the waves throughout the night. Unfortunately that was not an option for us as none of the units our group stayed in had screen doors and since the beach club is located so close to marshy areas there was an abundance of mosquitoes, dragonflies, moths, and other assorted insects. As a result of this Entomologists' paradise, dead bugs could be found in every elevator lobby and bug parts could be found floating in the pools throughout the day with nary a skimmer to be found.

There were also two snake sightings during our visit. The first was a 3 foot black snake found just outside of one of the ground level units. I could not identify the species for you, but it sent several ladies screaming. The second was crossing the road one evening and found itself under my front tire.

These things aside, the facilities are nice and the staff outside of the front office were very friendly and helpful. I hope this information is helpful to you and if you choose to visit the beach club consider investing in fly swatters, bug spray, and patience.

Room Tip: It seems that every unit in the four towers has a balcony with an ocean view. each of the four buil...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscarhair77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We recently stayed in a 4 bedroom condo in the Avalon tower. What I liked about the resort: private beach, multiple swimming pulls, on-site restaurant/spa/activities, close parking.... The resort is located in Fort Morgan, which is away from most everything. It was about a 20 minute drive, at most, into Gulf Shores. We went during "off season" so the private beach was practically empty!! Our family will definitely be staying here again. We used VRBO to book this condo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KayseyRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very nice, quiet location. We went with 2 grandkids and there was plenty to keep them occupied. Lots of families with young kids. If you're looking for the party scene, this isn't it. Village grill was very good for lunch.

Room Tip: Only complaint was the bed was not comfortable. (Really not comfortable). Pools were plentiful, bea...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuscaloosadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
11.5 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,202 reviews
12.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
358 reviews
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
244 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 25 in Gulf Shores
45 reviews
18.2 mi away
Turquoise Place
Turquoise Place
#1 of 19 in Orange Beach
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Club

Address: 925 Beach Club Trail, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range: $194 - $707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 684
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of both worlds: vacation rentals + full-service resort amenities. If combining a casual and relaxing beach getaway with luxury-level accommodations and services meets your vacation expectations, book your next visit to the Alabama Gulf Coast at The Beach Club with Spectrum Resorts - the official owner and operator of all of the Beach Club resort amenities. Escape to this popular family resort situated on 86 acres of natural beauty with private beaches spanning the length of nearly five football fields. Located 12 miles down Fort Morgan Road (Hwy 180) The Beach Club is the perfect resort for a relaxing and secluded family vacation that will allow everyone to unwind and reconnect, and The Beach Club offers so many amenities and family friendly activities you won't have to leave the resort. Everything you need for a perfect vacation is here - multiple dining options, five outdoor pools, heated indoor pool, fitness room, spa and salon, shopping, playground and activities - is here for your enjoyment during your stay. Spectrum Resorts (the exclusive onsite management company) offers the largest selection of vacation rentals at The Beach Club including Gulf Front condominiums and lakeside cottages. Condominiums are individually decorated and range from one to five bedrooms - all with unobstructed gulf views and located just steps from the beach. Cottages range from two to five bedrooms and provide a spacious and home-like setting for your family vacation. Stay with Spectrum Resorts and experience the "Spectrum Experience" • 100% satisfaction with your vacation rental • Advance Beach Chair rentals and preferred availability• Access to all resort amenities• Priority dinner reservations at Coast • Priority Spa and Salon appointments • Resort charging privileges providing a "cashless" experience. If you are looking for the perfect vacation destination for your family to reconnect and relax while away from the demands of day-to-day life, The Beach Club, delivered by Spectrum Resorts, is your answer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Club Hotel Gulf Shores
Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
The Beach Hotel
Beach Club Gulf Shores
Beach Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing