We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainy day lunch”

Tacky Jack's Grill & Tavern
Ranked #21 of 156 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Laurel, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rainy day lunch”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our second time to visit this restaurant. It has a bit of a touristy feel, but the food is pretty good. It has a nice open view of the intercoastal waterway, and the staff is friendly, but not overly attentive. It's definitely worth trying for those that have never been, and they have a nice gift shop with more than just your standard t-shirts (including pretty jewelry!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coplady213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    258
    139
    62
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stopped by on our way out of town for breakfast. Service was great and the breakfast food was very good. I recommend the cheese grits! They were wonderful. My grandson had the pancake that covered his plate and loved it! Great place for breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheliab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

After reading mixed reviews, decided to check this place out for ourselves and were pleasantly surprised. The weather has been most uncooperative for our girls trip, but the atmosphere inside Tacky Jack's more than made up for it. We were warmly welcomed at the bar by Trent the bartender who was super attentive and took great care of us. We ordered rum runners that were delicious and split the fried green tomato fries which were tasty! By the time we left, we felt like regulars. We will definitely be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ita360
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't Understand the Appeal”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This place is 'Eh' at best. It's just a dirty little hole-in-the-wall place with microwaved food that comes out fast but goes down boring. Chairs have a lip on the seat that cut into your thigh a bit. Shrimp was over-battered and over-seasoned. Fish taco was just okay. Sides were obviously frozen in storage - steamed veggies and fries. There were families there and small groups who seemed to enjoy themselves but we didn't get it. Wouldn't go back or recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ita360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster Groves, Missouri
2 reviews
“Eh.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went for dinner. This place is just 'eh'. This is microwave-food (especially the sides). Shrimp was over-battered and overly seasoned, fish tacos were 'eh' and the Caesar salad came out on a warm plate. Fries and veggies were boring. Place felt musky and the floor was dirty. Recomended by our hotel for some reason... Wouldn't go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacky Jack's Grill & Tavern also viewed

 
Gulf Shores, AL
 

Been to Tacky Jack's Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing