We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Definate Go To!”

Gulf State Park Fishing Pier
Ranked #3 of 43 things to do in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Definate Go To!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited the Pier two times while on vacation at Gulf Shores. It was so interesting to watch the fisherman and see what they were pulling in. Say guys catching sharks (and letting them go), big fish, little fish, cleaning fish and answering all the questions we had. The homemade ice cream they sell when you enter the Pier was great! A very relaxing place to stroll and enjoy the sunset.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    215
    67
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for hours. It was extremely entertaining! We watched people bring in different kinds of fish, one after the other. We went around 5pm,they told us that was when the fish bite.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesbeachlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Short Outing”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The pier was very cool. The kids loved it! Cost $3 for adults to walk out. We saw many people catching fish & pelicans waiting for someone to toss them something. Worth the trip!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Fishing”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed close to the pier and I was able to fish 3-4 days of our vacation. I ended up catching two large red fish, a spanish mackarel, flounders, and a few other smaller fish. It was only $8 to fish per day and it was alot of fun. Many of the locals were helpful and gave great advice on bait, fishing, etc.
I woudl highly recommend this as an activity while staying in Gulf Shores.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Great family fun"”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I took our two grandchildren ages 8 and 3. They were very excited . My granddaughter caught her first fish. I enjoyed watching others fish. It was nice and convenient that you could rent your pole. I would recommend experience even if you are not an avid fisherman.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Detrie13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf State Park Fishing Pier also viewed

 

Been to Gulf State Park Fishing Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing