We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dungeness Crab!”

The Steamer & Baked Oyster Bar
Ranked #22 of 161 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Natchez, MS
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dungeness Crab!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Some great crab, well-prepared and really tasty. There's a crab-boiled shrimp combo on the menu, but you can substitute the regular shrimp for Royal Reds, which is what we did. The place was crowded when we went, but we took stools at the outside bar. This ain't some fancy seafood restaurant, just a great place to eat seafood and not worry about getting it on the tablecloth. Waitress and bartender were plenty friendly, and considering we had plates full of crab and large shrimp in front of us, the price wasn't bad either. Perhaps the only complaint I had was that they only had two kinds of beer on tap. A great place to eat seafood in Gulf Shores.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natchezms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    165
    68
    30
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, but crowded”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food here was really good. I had the Mahi Sliders and my 3-year-old son had a really tasty grilled cheese. He also inhaled half of my mom's grilled shrimp and asked all week to go back and get more. The atmosphere was dark, loud, and crowded and the waitress could hardly get to our table in the corner but it didn't take long to get our food. Really some of the best food we had all week in Gulf Shores. Note: They do not fry anything so don't expect to get any fried seafood here. It's all baked or grilled.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mabeswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shrimp sandwich is the bomb”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate there twice and loved it. Tea was excellent. The grilled shrimp sandwich was amazing. Shrimp were sweet and tender. Bread was grilled perfectly. Didn't like potato salad. Sit outside. Inside smells fishy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kachow2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average seafood average service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Recently had dinner there. Come recommended by a local and also a waiter at another restaurant while we were eating one not. Had several people and all agreed it was just average. Place was not too crowded as we enter right at 530. Between all of us tried shrimp, oysters and fish dishes. We were In town for 8 days and we compared several local restaurants over this time period.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good steamed seafood”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We got to the restaurant & hostess gave me a choice of a table in the sun, a small ledge with stools or a 30 minute wait for 2 people...I took a look at the table in the sun... sun was behind a cloud & setting so we took this table. Our server was slow with everything from drinks all the way thru to the check.
I got the steamer for 2 & my husband got the crab cakes .... Mine was great, a very good selection of seafood, but my husband said his crab cakes were more filler than crab.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank foreverbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steamer & Baked Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Steamer & Baked Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing