We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“GREAT condo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiva Dunes Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiva Dunes Resort
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“GREAT condo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Kerri helped us with our first ever condo rental. This resort was amazing. As you can see from the photos, it is clean, big and scenic. Our condo overlooked the 18th green. The restaurant was AMAZING. We had the breakfast buffet (which was less than $10.00 per person) and also tried the Mai Mai for dinner the night before. GOTTA TRY THE CORN FRITTERS as an appetizer. The waitress (Angie?) from Ohio was friendly and helpful.
The condo was completely furnished (didn't have a hair dryer in the condo) but everything else was there (down to the wine opener). We will definately be back.
Thanks Kerri and Kiva Dunes for a great visit.

Room Tip: Contact Kerri and tell her she was recommended on Trip Advisor. She will take care of you. She eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I just returned from a great visit at Kiva Dunes! The resort is located 15 miles away from central Gulf Shores which is close enough to access but far enough away to appreciate the uncrowded beaches! The grounds and course are well manicured even in the off season of January. I have visited this property in the summer and the beach and pools are very inviting. we stayed in kiva village over looking the course. The two bedroom that we rented was spacious with a large balcony! All of the appliances are new and modern decor. I look forward to my next visit!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank browniegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in Kiva Village and loved it! The view of the golf course was amazing! Didn't play the course but it looked well kept! My family really enjoyed watching the alligator off of the balcony each and everyday! The beach at Kiva Dunes was beautiful! It was just about a 10 minute walk from the village or we would drive to the pool and walk across the dunes to the beach. The beach itself was quiet and very peaceful! We really enjoyed looking for shells and making sand castles each day of our stay! Definitely would stay at Kiva Village again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grate1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This Resort is in a beautiful location on Fort Morgan Road outside Gulf Shores. It is about a 15 mile drive from central Gulf Shores but well worth the ride. Very nice facilities that include Condo and house rentals. This Resort has a must play golf course - both challenging and beautiful. You will enjoy your experience at Kiva Dunes.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Timetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

The Kiva Dunes Lodge is in a great location with wonderful views. Even has a restaurant which is very convenient for late arrivals and days when you do not feel like fighting the crowds in Gulf Shores. The private beaches were uncrowded even during the peak months. The only disadvantage is the distance from the beach; however, there is shuttle service available and very limited parking near the boardwalk.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Clover143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was our first visit to Kiva Dunes and we are so glad we chose unit 607 at the Lodge. Our party was celebrating a 50th birthday and this penthouse was the perfect place. The views are spectacular from the master suite wraparound balcony! The gulf beach views were breathtaking especially with the surf being so high due to tropical storm Debby being nearby. There are also views of several holes of their golf course to enjoy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the private beach access and 3 beautiful pools. The area is quiet but close to all the action if that's what you're looking for. This may have been our first visit but it definitely won't be our last.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank taterbabydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was our second time to stay at Kiva Dunes and a wonderful time was had by all! The beach is beautiful, wonderful staff, and very clean. Fort Morgan is our kind of place, far from the crowds!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
13.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiva Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiva Dunes Resort

Property: Kiva Dunes Resort
Address: 815 Plantation Drive, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 64

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing