We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Eagle has landed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiva Dunes Golf Club

Kiva Dunes Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stretching 7,092 yards with a U.S.G.A. rating of 73.9 and a slope rating of 132, this spectacular 18-hole golf course meanders through natural sand dunes, lakes and wildlife areas.
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Eagle has landed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Well kept course. Excellent greens. Actually saw an alligator on in the sand trap. He minded his own business! WONDERFUL restaurant. Nice pro shop also.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    8
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duson, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best courses on the Gulf.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Every year, my extended family travels to Fort Morgan and rents a beach house. The women chill on the beach, and the men explore local golf courses. Throughout the years, this has become the epitome of a love/hate relationship for me.
I give this course five stars because of the layout, the setting, and overall enjoyability of playing it. That being said, if you struggle with consistency and distance, this course will eat your frickin lunch. Not a great course to bring a beginner on unless he's drunk and doesn't care what his score is or how many balls he loses.
Between the water, bunkers every 15 feet, and the super aggravating protected sand dune ecosystems throughout the course, not one hole fails to offer even the most experienced player a challenge. The greens are tough and unpredictable. The winds mess with your mind. In June it's hotter than the Sahara because there are no trees and the sand reflects the sun in your face.
The clubhouse is nice, and the people are friendly. Of course, I'm writing this while sitting in my office at work, so they could have beaten me with club shafts and I'd still rather be there than here.
Bring a lot of balls, a lot of water, and a lot of prayers.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RobT794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spring Golf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Played here due to the proximity of my resort. I was not disappointed. The staff was super helpful, the course was in good shape for March and the layout is fair but challenging.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
513 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“What a course!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Super nice course but if you have a choice, only play it on a nice day. Given it's location, it can be very windy. It's a hard course to start with so when you add a lot of wind it realy makes it tough, plus cold. If you're an average golfer, don't expect a great score but don't let that stop you from playing. Everyone needs to experience it at least once. The sand is unbelievable! Lots of it, very very fine and some traps even have steps because they are so deep. Greens are tough, as to be expected. You do NOT return to the clubhouse on the turn. Nice restrooms on course though and beverage cart service. Reviewed by a senior female, but husband has similar feelings.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Golf Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The course is located along the Fort Morgan AL beach. To say it is well maintained would be a understatement! To play a round of golf on a course like Kiva makes for a great day even if your card does not reflect it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sigmachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiva Dunes Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Kiva Dunes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing