We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on the beach”
Review of Island Winds West

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Winds West
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best place on the beach”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Great location, condo was very clean and beautiful Island Winds East and West is the bomb will always book with Brett-robinson not only are they on-site but the staff makes you feel right at home, thank you Brett-robinson for making memories

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crabclawsyummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    69
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
133
48
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The location is great. The suite we stayed in was very nice and up to date. The building is not as new as some others but it makes up for that in convenience. What really made it for us was the nice private balcony to sit and read, listen to the surf and watch the pelicans. We even saw the Blue Angels fly by a couple of times. Everyone was super nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Corner suite (like the one we chose) has more windows and larger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank submom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I just spent the month of November in a great condo in this building. This review is just for the building itself. It is such a clean place. Yes, it's not new but so what. Everyday the lobby and elevators were mopped. Weekly each floor ( there are 8) was hosed down. As soon as you enter the building you smell clean and fresh. They also keep the outside just as clean with daily hosing of the entrance and parkling lot front and back. They provide many grocery carts and 1 luggage valet to get everything to your condo. Super fast elevators. Now here is the negative. The garbage truck comes 4:30 AM to 5:30 AM to empty dumpster. If your a heavy sleeper you will never know it but if you are a light sleeper like myself it will really wake you up. Very Noisey while the truck is outfront banging the dumpster. Now at home my family asked me why didn't I get ear plugs..DUHHH!!! Older and set in my ways I guess..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank sjq1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at the Island Winds East and it was so convenient to everything! We walked to the Hangout, Pink Pony Pub, and many other restaurants and shops. Our condo was decorated perfectly and looked out over the Gulf. The kitchen was well stocked, as we cooked many of our meals there. Grills are also available. My husband and daughter parasailed and had a great time. All they had to do was walk down the beach. No driving! We will be returning in October for the Shrimp Festival and will definately stay at Island Winds East again. Anyone planning a vacation to Gulf Shores or Orange Beach, AL should definately check out Brett-Robinson's properties. They are well maintained and the staff is always there to help you out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We really had a great time in Gulf Shores lots to do and see. The condo was great, clean relaxing, great bed, gulf front view with balcony. The room was nicely decorated and the kitchen was fully stocked with all the essentials plus some. The service was great. People were friendinly and very accomodating. I will return again and ask for the same condo- Island Winds West #877. All the shops and restaurants are in walking distance. Golf, water park, arcades, car tracks, bungi juimps, mini golf, and zoo are all near by.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank everything7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
0.7 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,148 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
344 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Winds West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Winds West

Property: Island Winds West
Address: 407 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Winds West in Gulf Shores is especially great for families and sleeps up to 8 in a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom unit. It's the perfect headquarters for enjoying all the fun Gulf Shores has to offer. There's fishing from Gulf State Park Pier, or charter a boat in nearby Orange Beach and take to the Gulf for the afternoon to see what you can catch. We have putt-putt and amusement parks, and a great number of golf courses of varying difficulty right near our Gulf Shores condos. In addition to the variety of non-beach related activities we have, we also tons of water activities on top of good ol' sunbathing and swimming. Gulf Shores and Orange Beach offer jet ski rental, parasailing, kite surfing, boat rental and more. Take a ride on a Dolphin Cruise to admire those highly intelligent and amusing animals, or enjoy the views from the Mobile Bay Ferry as you journey to check out items of more historical interest, like Fort Morgan. In town you'll find a lot of adventure no matter what you are looking for at Island Winds West. When it comes to cuisine, our seafood is of course top-notch, and our Royal Red Shrimp have made international headlines for their deliciousness. Places like the Amphitheater at the Wharf and the Hangout have live music, and the Wharf has the largest Ferris Wheel in the Southeast. We even have a zoo, the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo, which you may have seen featured on Animal Planet. Parking is limited at Island Winds West. A one-bedroom condo will be issued one car pass. A two or three bedroom will be issued a maximum of two car passes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Winds West Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing