We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attempting to be more than it is.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean - CLOSED

Ocean
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Attempting to be more than it is.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Ate here for lunch today since it's close to where we're staying.

I will start off with the fact that the young gentleman that waited on us, genuinely tried to do his best. However, I think he was working alone with a relatively new kitchen staff.

We were seated and were the only two people in the place for a while. About 3 more tables came in and were seated. After about 20mins, we were presented with an apology and an appetizer for the extended wait time. Apparently there was an equipment malfunction in the kitchen. We waited some more...

After about 45mins, we got our meals. I had a ribeye, which was cooked correctly, my wife had a mixed plate of seafood, which was fresh and prepared well. Overall it was an above average meal for lunch.

This place has a great location because there isn't much out the Ft. Morgan road. However, it just seems the lack of staff today was definitely putting a damper on things. Certainly not for lack of the one guy working today. He kept moving and really seemed to be running the place by himself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mblgjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have been impressed with the beaches of Gulf Shores! We were a little weary of coming down three years ago but the beaches are well kept and it is so nice to see the sea life coming back. The water is so clean and this year was the first year we have seen so many different shells. It is a great family destination.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank C U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice upscale local restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nightly specials, prime rib was good, willing to prepare with special requests. Service a little slow, adequate bar. Nice décor, clean.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CWG51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We accidentally discovered this jewel August 2012 and just visited again tonight while in the area again. The service is wonderful, the food is first rate. Last summer when we first discovered it, members in our party (from California, New Jersey, Virginia, Alabama, and Mississippi) all raved. Several people stated Oceans was the highlight restaurant of our week long trip! Tonight was no exception. Everything we ordered was impeccable! This is definitely a five star restaurant in an off the beaten path location that deserved much attention. Every time we come back (a couple of times per year) we will return. In fact, we are going back tomorrow morning (Sunday) for brunch! Don't miss this great find.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We ate at this restaurant several times during our week long visit to Gulf Shores, AL. It is a little off of the main tourist area but very easy to find as it is visible from the highway.

The food was made with fresh ingredients and seasoned to perfection. We especially liked the Grouper Valentine as all of the flavors (lump crab meat, shrimp, and hollandaise sauce) blended so well together. It was a real "taste treat"! We prefer "made-to-order" meals instead of fast food, buffets, and tourist quick meal places.

We highly recommend this friendly, clean, and nicely decorated restuarant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cheryl0576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing