We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind!”
Review of Gulf State Park

Gulf State Park
Ranked #2 of 43 things to do in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Gulf State Park's two miles of beaches greet you with plenty of white sun-kissed sand, surging surf, seagulls and sea shells, but there is more than sand and surf to sink your toes into. Inside Gulf State Park there is a championship golf course, new beach pavilion, rental cottages, tennis courts, camp sites, hiking trails, Zip Line, and a fishing pier that is 20-feet wide and extends 1,512 feet into the Gulf. This and much more make Gulf State Park the perfect in-state vacation or out-of-state adventure.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to vacation. Located at the beach, great bike trails, restaurants & shopping. Not over built!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tonysY9554NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    199
    39
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Alabama is full of surprises!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I went to Gulf Shores and Orange Beach because I heard about the Shrimp Festival, which was awesome but a little pricey on the food, however very delicious gulf shrimp! I stayed at the State park which is essentially extremely well-planned and should be award-winning for many features: many sites to choose from, including waterfront for tent or RV camping. Clean restrooms, clean everything, incl laundrey facility, camp store, and friendly. With the camping permit, you can park free at the beachfront pavilion, a few blocks away or just walk over to the beach. Am just describing the camping facility here. The fishing pier is just a short drive away, the beach is pristine and the water delectable. The area is full of wildlife, and all is as neat and clean as anyone could desire. The town of Gulf Shores just a few miles away, this is an incredibly relaxing place that I will definitely return to!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 4RedClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good paved bike paths”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good bike path surfaces, but path junctions could use signage to indicate where you are. A new bike path is still under construction which will add more ride-able area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great public park (parking, showers, restrooms) at the beach sites, cabins, lakes, golf. We plan to rent a cabin next time we are in Gulf Shores - more fun than a hotel!! My son fell in love with the beaches and the public areas are clean and well kept.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
165 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Soft Sand”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were driving by and decided to stop and stretch with a walk along the beach. It was the softest sand. It was delightful walking along the beach. It wasn't crowded. We weren't there long but I would love to go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf State Park also viewed

 

Been to Gulf State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing