We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful beach setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gulf State Park

Gulf State Park
Ranked #2 of 41 things to do in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Gulf State Park's two miles of beaches greet you with plenty of white sun-kissed sand, surging surf, seagulls and sea shells, but there is more than sand and surf to sink your toes into. Inside Gulf State Park there is a championship golf course, new beach pavilion, rental cottages, tennis courts, camp sites, hiking trails, Zip Line, and a fishing pier that is 20-feet wide and extends 1,512 feet into the Gulf. This and much more make Gulf State Park the perfect in-state vacation or out-of-state adventure.
Bear Creek, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“beautiful beach setting”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The sand is powdery soft and white. The gulf water is warm. Small shells can be found. The back drop is a field of sea oats. I'm fond of the beach here. It is always relaxing.

Fishing on the pier is good also.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackblue1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    192
    37
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super place if you are wanting good facilities and room to set up”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I visited this on the 4th of July and two other times in the previous week. I had purchased a pass. I have lived on the emerald coast 20 years and it is the 1st time I have paid for the beach. Great facilities and room to pitch your covering tent. I just don't like paying for the beach.. lol

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TamAbr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First trip with our Pop Up Camper”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We traveled and stayed at the camp site in the Park as recommended. We had several friends recommend the place and it was worth every moment. Although our tow bar broke on the way and several hours later we finally arrived to our destination with welcoming, friendly staff. The amenities of the park were grand. Thanks to a fellow trip ad-visor post warning about the healthy eco system of frogs. We totally enjoyed playing tennis, the pool area however we never made it to the nature center, it was closed each time we visited. We are making plans to travel back so that we can stay much LONGER!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BAMA-Girl-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Camping”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great location right off the beach and a huge pool. All the facilities were super clean and almost brand new condition (bathrooms, showers, laundry). Very friend staff, and great things to do with the family. Trails with lakes and fishing and canoes. They even have bike rentals for around 10-15 dollars for 24 hours. They told us to watch out for gators but we didn't see one the entire time. Excellent place, wouldn't mind going back there again! High recommend for families, lots of things to do.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMarien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga.
Level Contributor
204 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Serene camping”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a fun camping experience. Very serene. The restrooms were clean and the staff friendly? Good central location to attractions and restaurants.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslieonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf State Park also viewed

 

Been to Gulf State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing