We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice.....and clean!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I am very picky about where I lay my head. I will certainly come back here. It wasn't on the beach which was a bummer but what we paid for two nights here, we would've had to pay for one night on the beach. It was very clean. I inspect the bathroom and the bed before I even put my luggage down. I didn't find one hair, lol! We were very pleased! Only downside, VERY SMALL Pool!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abeth1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 244 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2010

I decided to turn what would normally be a day-trip into an overnight stay and booked one night at the Holiday Inn Express, so I could spend the whole day in Gulf Shores, and return home after a good rest. I have no idea why another reviewer called this place "isolated" and "hard to find". True, it's not directly on the beach or directly on the main thoroughfare (Hwy. 59) that runs through the heart of Gulf Shores. It IS directly behind a bank, but unless you need glasses, it's NOT hard to miss -- at four stories, it's the tallest building in a very well-developed area. Add a large, illuminated "H" on the front of the building that faces Alabama Hwy. 59, a heavily-traveled, four-lane road that runs straight to the beach, and you shouldn't even NEED GPS to find it.
I don't know how well other reviewers did their research or paid attention to their surroundings, but there are SEVERAL restaurants within WALKING distance all around it -- both fastfood AND sit-down. You're only about a mile from the beach and this is a major tourist-oriented district, so there are also plenty of sidewalks and crosswalks. There are nature trails, a zoo AND a waterpark (Waterville) within half a mile of this hotel.
The hotel itself FEELS new (at least it did to ME), but it also feels a little smaller than other places I've stayed at in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach. I do agree that the pool area is much smaller that you'd expected -- it almost looks like an afterthought, tucked against the eastern end of the hotel, directly adjacent to the parking lot.
Inside, there's a fitness center and a business center with two computers and a printer, free to guests.
My room was a regular room with a single queen-sized bed, with pillows that were labeled (on the pillowcases) as either being firm or soft. There's a good-sized flatscreen television, with enough "free" channels so you won't feel it necessary to spend extra for in-room movies (unless you're so inclined). There's a small microwave and a small refrigerator (NOT a mini-bar -- this one is completely empty, to be stocked with your own groceries). There's a small coffee-maker, with enough supplies for two cups of coffee and two cups of tea. There is an ice dispenser and vending machines down the hall, near the elevators (except on the first floor, where they put it at the end of the corridor next to a door leading outside.)
The most outstanding feature was the bathroom. It was so spacious and had such upscale features (granite countertops and shelves in the bathtub), it felt downright luxurious compared to the rest of the room AND other places I've stayed before.
There's no room service, but you do get complimentary breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausage, cinnamon rolls, cold cereal and other things along those lines). The scrambled eggs and sausage were good, but obviously cooked in a microwave and not on a grill. There's plenty of hot coffee, hot tea and hot cocoa, too.
There's plenty to do in Gulf Shores. Public beaches are located at the very end of Hwy. 59, about a mile from this hotel. There are also beautiful beaches at Gulf State Park, about another 3 miles east of Hwy. 59 on Beach Boulevard.
The upside of not being directly on the beach or directly on the main road is the peace and quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FayeB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Great staff, room and bed. Very busy place. We enjoyed time there.

Coming in to Gulf Shores from the north we followed the Holiday Inn website directions and couldn't find the hotel. I also used my Garmin Nuvi gps and put in the address and still couldn't find the hotel! We finally broke down and called and were given much better directions and found it right away. We didn't spot it before because the hotel is mainly hidden behind a Wachovia building and you only spot the sign for a second between buildings or if you happen to look back as you go past the location.

A very new Holiday Inn that's starting to show wear in places. They need to watch the general maintenance or it's going to start going downhill. I say this because I noticed a number of dirty walls throughout, main entrance doors were often having to be temporarily fixed by front desk staff and other issues that seemed unusual for hotel that appears to be only a year or 2 old.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northernRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

My family and I stayed for one night on our way to the Florida beaches. Our experience was very different than the other reviews I have read. The hotel sits in an isolated area behind a bank. There are no restaurants or shops within walking distance. After a long drive I asked the front desk staff if they would upgrade us to a suite as I am a long-time priority club member. He abruptly denied this so I asked to at least get an AARP rate, again a firm "no." We went to the room and the key did not work so had to come back to the front desk. The door to the room did not shut properly so when we left we had to make sure it was closed. We went to the outdoor pool which was very small and the hot tub was not working. The next morning at breakfast two of my children selected donuts that were so hard they were inedible. The only positive thing I can say about breakfast is the coffee was good and the attendant was very gracious and friendly. The hotel is quite a long way from the beach. There were so many other alternatives in the area, I would not waste my time with this place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Spent one night at the Holiday Inn Express Gulf Shores. Was in town to spend a few days with family. Was nicely surprised by our experience as this hotel.

Pros:
- New hotel
- Rooms were clean and modern
- Staff was very friendly and accomodating
- Good central location

Cons:
- None to speak of

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Gulf Shores area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whofan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

WE stayed one night, after reading the reviews on trip advisor, decided to try it. This hotel was very clean, had granite in the bathroom, beds were very comfortable. It opened mid 2009 so that is key to not having a worn out place. Staff was very helpful and breakfast was very good. What more could anyone want for around $80 a night.(Which we came on a Sunday) weekends I'm sure are more. We stayed the Sunday night after Christmas weekend. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone.!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights which were really surprising. The hotel is clean and nicely decorated. My kids and I felt very at home. The staff was phenominal and was there to help in a minute. I would definately recommend this hotel 100%. Nice price, area and atmosphere!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyrena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
1.4 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,252 reviews
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
368 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
276 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores

Address: 160 West Commerce Avenue, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-3498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range: $85 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your search for Gulf Shores best lodging value ends here! The sugar white sands of Gulf Shores is only moments away from the areas newest hotel, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Gulf Shores, AL. Our promise to you is a great room with great service and incomparable value. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Gulf Shores is sure to have a room or suite to meet your needs. Let us be your host to a great getaway! Our property is conveniently located in the heart of all the main attractions and world renowned restaurants that make Gulf Shores and Orange Beach, the premier vacation destination in southern Alabama: Waterville USA, Alligator Alley, Tanger Outlet Center, The Track, Adventure Island, Lambert's Cafe, The Hangout, Adventure Island and the Gulf Coast Zoo just to name a few! If you decide to take a break from the beach, we invite you to take advantage numerous championship golf courses and outstanding charter fishing opportunities. Travelers are encouraged to spend some time at the areas best shopping complex, Tanger Outlet Mall. The kids are sure to enjoy Waterville Waterpark and the go-karts at the Track Recreational Center. Companies like BF Goodrich and Vulcan Materials Company anchor a vibrant business community. Great Gulf Shores shopping, restaurants and entertainment reside only a few footsteps from our front door. We welcome you to experience all that the great coastal community of Gulf Shores, Alabama has to offer. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Gulf Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gulf Shores Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing