We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Andalusia, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice and Convenient”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is Nice and Convenient. Close enough to the action but far enough away to be quiet. Rooms are nice and clean. We really like this hotel for a quick stay over at a clean and safe place. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlabamaTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    74
    38
    10
    16
See reviews for
81
71
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August. The location is perfectly fine, but the hotel disappointed in comparison to our usual experience with Holiday Inns. The hotel was somewhat tired, the Business Center unreliable and the usual basic amenity of having hot water available to make yourself drinks from the breakfast area wasn't present, or indeed the treat of cookies after 5.00pm.

More three and a half stars than three, but just not up to the usual standard we have come to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Bryan D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am pleased to know that our location suited you well. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions, breakfast, and internet connection may have caused. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewton, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located just a few miles from the beach. It is far enough away not to be affected by the night life noise and congestion, yet just a quick car ride or walk to the public beach. Rooms are fresh and immaculately clean as is the rest of the hotel. The pool is a bit small, but not many guests use it, so it was never crowded. Overall a wonderful experience!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

After a 17 hour drive this hotel was a rest haven for us. The staff was very friendly and helpful in suggesting places to eat. They also provided us with a crib for our daughter that had a cute little pique sheet and blanket in pink/white, nice unexpected touch. The beds were comfy with spacious rooms with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom was very large surrounded with beautiful granite. Right in the center of lots of dining and less than 10 minute drive to the beautiful coast/beaches. We will surely return and stay here and take in all the activities and enjoy the beaches.

Room Tip: No street sign to hotel, GPS will pass it. It is behind Cracker Barrell Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsYoung214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Spent two night at the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel was clean, staff efficient and courteous. Rooms were of a decent size and quiet. Plenty of pillows. Beds were not that comfortable, seemed to be worn and probably needs replacing. Loved the shower head. Good power and plenty of hot water. The lighting in the bathroom was horrible. HORRIBLE to the point I had to put my make up on standing by the window with a hand held mirror. Also no fan in the bathroom so the mirror steamed up but I suppose that really doesn't matter since it's too dark to use the mirror anyway. We did not eat the breakfast.

This place was just okay. I'd probably be alright with staying here again if I couldn't get a hotel on the beach. It could be so much more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeeBee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
I just wanted to extend to you my deepest apologies regarding the issues you experienced with your reservation. We strive to provide a comfortable and peaceful setting for the frequent traveler, and can certainly understand how experiencing the issues you have endured while at our property can leave you with a negative opinion. We will take this feedback seriously in making change to advance our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed for a few days last week. This is a typical Holiday Inn Express - no frills, but also won't break the bank. All staff were pleasant and personable. My husband and I enjoyed the included continental breakfast each morning. The breakfast stations were PACKED whenever fresh eggs and biscuits were set out. Unfortunately, there are only 2 elevators, and they are used heavily. You will wait each time. This is a design flaw; there should be centrally located stairs to go up and down. Also plenty of little children! I was not prepared for all the little ones running around. We got in late our first night, around 10:30pm or so, finally went to bed around midnight. There was a child periodically laughing and shrieking in a neighboring room. Granted I am a light sleeper and had to put in ear plugs to drown out the noise. My husband (the heavy sleeper) was not bothered at all, but I couldn't believe parents would allow their child to be up playing at that hour! Also, the drapery closes in the center of the window, which allows light in the center where the drapes meet. I would change this so that the drapery closes over the entire window (not two separate panels) to fully block the light from entering the room. Overall, I may stay here again if a better price/property wasn't available elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdlubsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear mdlubsu,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am glad you like the staff service and breakfast selection received. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay due to the noise levels. We will certainly discuss your comments with the appropriate department. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Laptop was stolen here, after staying only one day. Hotel would not help in any way. All I got was "We have no laptop in our lost and found." Of course there isn't. Most would not turn in something so valuable, but rather keep it for themselves. I would think a staff manager could personally check the room i stayed in, or check employees to ensure none of them had it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tork1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear tork1823,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Gulf Shores.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
1.4 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Address: 160 West Commerce Avenue, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-3498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your search for Gulf Shores best lodging value ends here! The sugar white sands of Gulf Shores is only moments away from the areas newest hotel, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Gulf Shores, AL. Our promise to you is a great room with great service and incomparable value. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Gulf Shores is sure to have a room or suite to meet your needs. Let us be your host to a great getaway! Our property is conveniently located in the heart of all the main attractions and world renowned restaurants that make Gulf Shores and Orange Beach, the premier vacation destination in southern Alabama: Waterville USA, Alligator Alley, Tanger Outlet Center, The Track, Adventure Island, Lambert's Cafe, The Hangout, Adventure Island and the Gulf Coast Zoo just to name a few! If you decide to take a break from the beach, we invite you to take advantage numerous championship golf courses and outstanding charter fishing opportunities. Travelers are encouraged to spend some time at the areas best shopping complex, Tanger Outlet Mall. The kids are sure to enjoy Waterville Waterpark and the go-karts at the Track Recreational Center. Companies like BF Goodrich and Vulcan Materials Company anchor a vibrant business community. Great Gulf Shores shopping, restaurants and entertainment reside only a few footsteps from our front door. We welcome you to experience all that the great coastal community of Gulf Shores, Alabama has to offer. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Gulf Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gulf Shores Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing