We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the beach without beach pricing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Cypress
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Close to the beach without beach pricing”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed here while attending a wedding in the area. We were very happy with it's proximity to the beach and restaurants. The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTraveljunkie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    74
    38
    10
    16
See reviews for
81
72
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We were only here one night (basically just a stop over on our trip to Atlanta), so this place more than met our needs for a quick stay over. The hotel is fairly new, so it's in good condition with the latest amenities in the rooms (flat screen, upgraded A/C, etc.). It's a typical Holiday Inn - nothing fancy but you get a good night's sleep. Bed was comfortable, room was a decent size.

A few things- this place is about a mile from the beach, so if you're going for a beach stay be prepared to drive. Since I live 10 miles from the beach this was not a problem, and also made for a very quiet area. Also, the walls are paper thin - our neighbor had a small child in their room who woke up screaming about 1:00 am and screamed non-stop for about an hour. Fortunately we were awake and watching TV so it didn't wake us up, but you can hear EVERYTHING that goes on in the room next to you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geiszlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Comfortable beds, free breakfast(ok for what its worth), clean rooms, fabulous shower, affordable price.

The pool area is kind of small but again, the price compensated.

I would recommend this hotel to those who arent adamant about having a beach front hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAU03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

The hotel is a pretty new facility, and very nice. Beds are comfy and the hotel is quiet (keep in mind we were there in the off-season). The breakfast is good and we had no service issue at all. The wi-fi signal was very week at times.

The only complaint I have is that the bathroom must have been designed by a man! The sink is much higher than most vanities and the lighting sucks for applying make-up. There is lots of storage under the sink for your things, and we were there 5 nights.

The hotel was not crowded at all, but I could see how parking might be an issue if at or near capacity.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GORDONCHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

This is a 1-year old hotel, so it is in very nice condition, with comfortable bedding and rooms of good size with attractive decor. Parking was convenient; the free breakfast was typical for Holiday Inn Express or other similar hotels. Bedding was comfortable. Wireless internet access was free, but speeds were a little slower than I would have expected.

My problem with the hotel was the absence of hot water both mornings we were there. While problems occur occasionally in all hotels, that this persisted over two nights was a real problem. The the lack of urgency to fix the problem was inexcusable. The evening after the first cold shower, we were told by the front desk that the plumber would be there the nest day (the 2nd day). It is difficult to retain customer loyalty without quickly resolving very significant problems such as this.

I have given this a "no" recommendation because, while the problem will likely be fixed before the next day, it is indicative of management's responsiveness to customer needs

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave-LafayetteLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I am very picky about where I lay my head. I will certainly come back here. It wasn't on the beach which was a bummer but what we paid for two nights here, we would've had to pay for one night on the beach. It was very clean. I inspect the bathroom and the bed before I even put my luggage down. I didn't find one hair, lol! We were very pleased! Only downside, VERY SMALL Pool!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abeth1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

I decided to turn what would normally be a day-trip into an overnight stay and booked one night at the Holiday Inn Express, so I could spend the whole day in Gulf Shores, and return home after a good rest. I have no idea why another reviewer called this place "isolated" and "hard to find". True, it's not directly on the beach or directly on the main thoroughfare (Hwy. 59) that runs through the heart of Gulf Shores. It IS directly behind a bank, but unless you need glasses, it's NOT hard to miss -- at four stories, it's the tallest building in a very well-developed area. Add a large, illuminated "H" on the front of the building that faces Alabama Hwy. 59, a heavily-traveled, four-lane road that runs straight to the beach, and you shouldn't even NEED GPS to find it.
I don't know how well other reviewers did their research or paid attention to their surroundings, but there are SEVERAL restaurants within WALKING distance all around it -- both fastfood AND sit-down. You're only about a mile from the beach and this is a major tourist-oriented district, so there are also plenty of sidewalks and crosswalks. There are nature trails, a zoo AND a waterpark (Waterville) within half a mile of this hotel.
The hotel itself FEELS new (at least it did to ME), but it also feels a little smaller than other places I've stayed at in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach. I do agree that the pool area is much smaller that you'd expected -- it almost looks like an afterthought, tucked against the eastern end of the hotel, directly adjacent to the parking lot.
Inside, there's a fitness center and a business center with two computers and a printer, free to guests.
My room was a regular room with a single queen-sized bed, with pillows that were labeled (on the pillowcases) as either being firm or soft. There's a good-sized flatscreen television, with enough "free" channels so you won't feel it necessary to spend extra for in-room movies (unless you're so inclined). There's a small microwave and a small refrigerator (NOT a mini-bar -- this one is completely empty, to be stocked with your own groceries). There's a small coffee-maker, with enough supplies for two cups of coffee and two cups of tea. There is an ice dispenser and vending machines down the hall, near the elevators (except on the first floor, where they put it at the end of the corridor next to a door leading outside.)
The most outstanding feature was the bathroom. It was so spacious and had such upscale features (granite countertops and shelves in the bathtub), it felt downright luxurious compared to the rest of the room AND other places I've stayed before.
There's no room service, but you do get complimentary breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausage, cinnamon rolls, cold cereal and other things along those lines). The scrambled eggs and sausage were good, but obviously cooked in a microwave and not on a grill. There's plenty of hot coffee, hot tea and hot cocoa, too.
There's plenty to do in Gulf Shores. Public beaches are located at the very end of Hwy. 59, about a mile from this hotel. There are also beautiful beaches at Gulf State Park, about another 3 miles east of Hwy. 59 on Beach Boulevard.
The upside of not being directly on the beach or directly on the main road is the peace and quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FayeB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
1.4 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
202 reviews
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Address: 160 West Commerce Avenue, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-3498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your search for Gulf Shores best lodging value ends here! The sugar white sands of Gulf Shores is only moments away from the areas newest hotel, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Gulf Shores, AL. Our promise to you is a great room with great service and incomparable value. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Gulf Shores is sure to have a room or suite to meet your needs. Let us be your host to a great getaway! Our property is conveniently located in the heart of all the main attractions and world renowned restaurants that make Gulf Shores and Orange Beach, the premier vacation destination in southern Alabama: Waterville USA, Alligator Alley, Tanger Outlet Center, The Track, Adventure Island, Lambert's Cafe, The Hangout, Adventure Island and the Gulf Coast Zoo just to name a few! If you decide to take a break from the beach, we invite you to take advantage numerous championship golf courses and outstanding charter fishing opportunities. Travelers are encouraged to spend some time at the areas best shopping complex, Tanger Outlet Mall. The kids are sure to enjoy Waterville Waterpark and the go-karts at the Track Recreational Center. Companies like BF Goodrich and Vulcan Materials Company anchor a vibrant business community. Great Gulf Shores shopping, restaurants and entertainment reside only a few footsteps from our front door. We welcome you to experience all that the great coastal community of Gulf Shores, Alabama has to offer. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Gulf Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gulf Shores Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing