We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirtiest condo I have ever stayed in. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfside Shores I and II
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The location is good and includes a pool and hot tub as well as wifi. Now for everything else.

Upon arrival the elevator was broken, but was shortly repaired. We climbed the stairs to our condo, only to notice it was still being cleaned after official check in.

No problem, we came back several minutes later to find the cleaning guy talking on his phone. We where told "y'all need to get out." Upon calling Meyers, they just told us that a clean room upon check in is not guaranteed. I guess four digit sums of cash isn't enough for a clean room on time, or at all for that matter.

Almost an hour after check in time, we got to see the room. The decor did not reflect the photos, but whatever.

The room was ok, but featured shoddy outlets and slow Internet.

The real issue was the dirty floor. You could not walk bear foot without getting black feet. We complained, but we barely got a "sorry."

We are in the market to buy a condo, but will not consider this building. We've had good luck with Meyer's in the past, but we'll see.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wlbenton, Surf Side Shores Condo HO Association at Surfside Shores I and II, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2015

Surf Side Shores is a complex consisting of 96 individually-owned condominiums in two nine-story buildings. As such, decor, furnishings, amenities, etc. will differ from condo to condo. It would be helpful to know which condominium unit was rented and also what rental company, if any, was involved, so that owner's and/or the rental agents can respond.
There are no on-site rental desks or offices and all rentals are handled either by the individual owner or a local rental agency. As the homeowners association, we do all that we can to maintain the common areas and to keep all facilities maintained for the enjoyment or our owners and their guests. It is our recommendation that you pay careful attention to photos and descriptions on any rental site and that you carefully read reviews and rely on recommendations from others for any condo-type rentals. Please try us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Surfside Shores I and II
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

Have stayed at Surfside Shores many times. Great location in Gulf Shores. Condos are owner rented or agency rented. You can save yourself lots of money by renting directly through the owners. Each condo is decorated differently, so it depends if the owner keeps up the unit. We LOVE Gulf Shores and enjoy staying at Surfside Shores. We haven't ever seen a bad condo there.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank dee012963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wlbenton, Surf Side Shores Condo HO Association at Surfside Shores I and II, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Thank you for your review of one of our condominium units at Surf Side Shores. We are always glad to hear that guests of one of our owners have had a pleasant and enjoyable experience.

Surf Side Shores is a complex consisting of 96 individually-owned condominiums in two nine-story buildings. As such, decor, furnishings, amenities, etc. will differ from condo to condo.

Surf Side Shores is not a hotel or condotel type facility. As such there are no on-site rental desks or offices or walk-in rentals, and any rentals are handled either by the individual owner or a local rental agency. Some owners elect to rent, some maintain their private condominiums as second-homes.

As the homeowners association, we do all that we can to maintain the common areas and to keep all facilities maintained for the enjoyment or our owners and their guests. It is our recommendation to prospective guests that you pay careful attention to photos and descriptions on any rental site and that you carefully read reviews and rely on recommendations from others for any condo-type rentals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Early June of 2014 was our second visit to Surfside Shores II. We stayed in unit 2501 and were very pleased. Two masters, both with balconies that can overlook the Gulf, the street side balcony wraps to the side enabling views of the strip and Gulf. The bedrooms are well-appointed and the pools have ample seating. The only complaint would be tht the elevator was not reliable. It broke down twice in a week, but there was a security guard there 24 hours to call a repairman.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank travelcop24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wlbenton, Surf Side Shores Condo HO Association at Surfside Shores I and II, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Thank you for your review of one of our condominium units at Surf Side Shores. We are always glad to hear that guests of one of our owners have had a pleasant and enjoyable experience.

Surf Side Shores is a complex consisting of 96 individually-owned condominiums in two nine-story buildings. As such, decor, furnishings, amenities, etc. will differ from condo to condo.

Surf Side Shores is not a hotel or condotel type facility. As such there are no on-site rental desks or offices or walk-in rentals, and any rentals are handled either by the individual owner or a local rental agency. Some owners elect to rent, some maintain their private condominiums as second-homes.

As the homeowners association, we do all that we can to maintain the common areas and to keep all facilities maintained for the enjoyment or our owners and their guests. It is our recommendation to prospective guests that you pay careful attention to photos and descriptions on any rental site and that you carefully read reviews and rely on recommendations from others for any condo-type rentals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We made a last second trip To Gulf Shores and booked blindly! We are not known for that....this place was exactly like the pictures.....great views from the private balconies...two nice pools lots of seating. They even have 24 hr security. We are already looking to book our next stay.

Room Tip: All beach front condos have great views, lower floors may be partially block by landscaping.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank RandynKimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wlbenton, Surf Side Shores Condo HO Association at Surfside Shores I and II, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Thank you for your review of one of our condominium units at Surf Side Shores. We are always glad to hear that guests of one of our owners have had a pleasant and enjoyable experience.

Surf Side Shores is a complex consisting of 96 individually-owned condominiums in two nine-story buildings. As such, decor, furnishings, amenities, etc. will differ from condo to condo.

Surf Side Shores is not a hotel or condotel type facility. As such there are no on-site rental desks or offices or walk-in rentals, and any rentals are handled either by the individual owner or a local rental agency. Some owners elect to rent, some maintain their private condominiums as second-homes.

As the homeowners association, we do all that we can to maintain the common areas and to keep all facilities maintained for the enjoyment or our owners and their guests. It is our recommendation to prospective guests that you pay careful attention to photos and descriptions on any rental site and that you carefully read reviews and rely on recommendations from others for any condo-type rentals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,203 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 25 in Gulf Shores
45 reviews
4.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
244 reviews
4.1 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Shores I and II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Shores I and II

Address: 965-969 W. Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range: $175 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Shores I and II 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Side Shores is NOT a hotel, but rather consists of a nine-story two building complex containing 96 individually owned and managed condominiums. There are no walk-in rentals an no rentals or sales office are on site. Rentals are handled by owners or their selected rental management company. Use of facilities is limited to owners and/or their guests. There is no public access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Surfside Shores I and II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing