We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, excellent location.”
Review of Boardwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boardwalk
Gladstone, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent place, excellent location.”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here with my family for a week in June 2012. We rented through Alabama Beach Vacation Rentals, unit 683. I chose Boardwalk because the price was fair, I liked the location on the east end of the beach, near the state park, and because the pool is on the beach side of the building rather than facing the parking lot. Nice decor in the room, very much a beach theme. No major complaints about the property. A few minor things: The stove in our unit was not great, and none of the pots had lids, but everything worked. The unit was clean when we arrived other than the master bedroom carpeting did not appear to have been vacuumed. The bed really needs a new mattress. I would, however, stay here again as it has all the amenities I want. It was great being next to Sea-N-Suds; we had a couple of meals there and I went down for oysters and a beer most afternoons.
If you've never stayed in Gulf Shores, be aware that this is a busy place. Driving anytime after noon is a pain, and it is tough to get a table for dinner at the best spots. After a couple of days we started getting take-out or buying fresh seafood to cook at the condo just to avoid the traffic and waiting to eat.
Remember that the condos are managed by different owners and companies, so cleanliness, price, and rental procedures will be different for each one. I had no problems with ABVR. All correspondence was done by email, paid by credit card, and the unit key was in a lock box so no check-in or out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlinyooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
28
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

First and foremost, I think people need to keep in mind that the individual condos are owned by individuals. The building itself is older, but seems to be well kept. The elevators were always in working order, and when the wind blew open one of the glass doors and shattered it, the staff there had it fixed immediately. The pool is clean and average size, and there is a huge sundeck. Our unit was very clean and modern. There seemed to be something going on with the television because it had a weird buzzing noise, and the door to the closet in the master bedroom was off the track but other than that everything was great. The VRBO listing number for this unit is 229159 if anyone is interested in checking it out. One of the nicest features of the condo was that it had a bedroom with two sets of bunkbeds in it for the kids. The location was also a huge selling point because we were right in the heart of Gulf Shores and could easily walk to many restaurants and shops. Parking can be a pain, because Sea N Suds is out on the beach adjaecent to this condo and customers tend to park in the condo parking lot, even though they are clearly instructed not to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom76SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This place is great, its right on the beach and right in front of Sea-N-Suds the best place to eat in Gulf Shores. We love to stay here every year. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have stayed several times at the Boardwalk and have tried various other condo units but we always come back to the Bwalk. Yes, it is an older building and some of the units have not been upgraded but we come to GS for the beach and the food. Within walking distance of several selections of good eateries and beach bars. Short drive to many interesting places. Just need to be aware of the rental unit and extra fees when making reservations, some fees are negotiable if you address at time of reservation. If you desire lots of extra amenities with the condo this is NOT the place for you but if you plan on spending most of your time outside the condo I would and have recommended the Boardwalk.

Room Tip: if you are planning a 1 bdr and can upgrade to a 2 Bdr I would recommend the extra cost. The master...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weiesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Our fist time visiting Gulf Shores Alabama and we loved it. We stayed at the Boardwalk and loved being on the beach. The condo we had needed some updating but it was very clean and that's more important to me than the decor. If I visit Gulf Shores again I would stay there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This was the smallest condo I have ever seen. Lights were burned out, outlits did not work, so bring an extension cord. The internet was as slow as christmas and the remote only went down not up. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheersponsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gulf Shores hotels

Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Three things:
1. Suncoast Realty tacks on A LOT of fees. There was a $100 "cleaning fee". I don't pay that at a hotel and should not pay that here. Then a "beach fee" then a "processing fee" and on and on and on. The final price we paid was almost double the nightly rate after all the fees were added.
2. Not Enough Parking. The small parking lot at the condo site is totally reserved for the restaurant on the beach. The staff tell you to "park across the street". Only thing is, that too is a public lot and not nearly enough spaces for the cars needed. Good luck finding a spot this summer.
3. Snooty staff. The whole Suncoast Realty people tack on all these non-customer-friendly rules. $25.00 if you lose the plastic room key...I mean come on. It is a .50 cent plastic card. $50.00 if you lock yourself out of your room.

In all, I will stay somewhere else next time. I don't know who is more money hungry...the condo owners or the Suncoast people.

There is enough competition on Gulf Shores to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stop_At_Red_Lights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,180 reviews
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
352 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
232 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 25 in Gulf Shores
45 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk

Property: Boardwalk
Address: 420 E Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6600
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Gulf Shores
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boardwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing