We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time here”
Review of Ocean Reef

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Reef
Medina, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time here”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The room (103) was exactly as described. Neat, clean. The only downside that is no reflection of the owner/manager was the garbage truck that arrived noisily in the early morning, and the noise of residents until late night/early morning hours. The main bed squeaky, but not uncomfortable. It was a few steps from the beach, right on the Main Street for souvenir shopping, restaurants. Would stay there again. Room was good for 1 adult, 2 small kids, but 4 people would be close quarters .
Had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C25mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Van Buren, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in condo 801 which is a 3 story condo that faces the beach. You can walk right off of your deck onto the beach. That is absolutely the best part about the condo. Only one of the rooms has a good view of the beach, the others face the parking lot or have a small window. The pool was nice. The inside of the condo could use a refreshing. There were lots of broken items in the condo, lamps, pictures, showers and other items needed to be fixed. The kitchen items didn't seem to be very clean and the beds were the worst i have ever slept on.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VB_Family_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at Oceanreef in the 600 building for 7 nights and had the best time ever. The pool was only a few feet away from our front steps and we had a good view of the Gulf from the back deck. THe beach was maybe 100 ft away. Family friendly with a security guard. The condo was furnished well and very clean. Only problem is there is limited parking. One to two cars per unit is all that is allowed. The rates were great so we got to stay longer than if we had stayed at the expensive high rises. It is a small complex (maybe 50 units) personable and well kept.

Room Tip: rented from an individual not a company and saved on resort, clean-up and exit fees
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAILX6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

This cute little condo has a perfect location. There isnt a view of the beach, but its just a very short stroll past the pool till your toes are in the sand.
The unit was fairly clean,actually...I was very pleased with the cleanliness except for the dishes. The dishes didnt seem to have been much more than rinsed....this may very well be because their was only one packet of dishwashing detergent for our stay, so I assume that it was the same way for guests prior to us.
The only other real issue was that their was only 1/4 roll of toilet paper supplied for us. This may not have been a problem, except that we werent informed that we would have to supply our own tissue, and when the 1/4 roll was gone....we were in a bind because we figured there was more under the sink....there wasnt!!! My wife had to haul it to Walmart while I....PATIENTLY waited.
The pull out sofa's matress was strictly for children....and my children even made a comment about it not being very comfortable.They slept on the couch with out pulling out the bed after the first night. The couch itself is VERY plush.
I would still recommend this unit, its very affordable, well located, and adorably decorated.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaddyRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
0.8 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,173 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
221 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
44 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef

Property: Ocean Reef
Address: 507 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6435
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing