We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Pools, Average Condo”
Review of Sea Oats

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Oats
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Pools, Average Condo”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Week of 5/18/2014
Condo: I-103

Pros: The location is great. You are right across the street from the beach, the pool is very close, the lagoon is close as well. The pool was very nice. The lounge chairs were good, the water was clear. The area around the condos was well landscaped. I like how there was a combination for the condo entrance so everyone got a "key" to get in and out. The beds were comfortable (except for the linens). The pots and pans were fine. The batchrooms were clean, the carpet was clean (lots of carpet runners covering traffic areas).

Cons: The move-in instructions were not sent until the move-in day, so we did not know that were were only being given 2 rolls of toilet paper, no cleaning spray, no garbage bags, no paper towels and no beach towels until after we had left. The linens were terrible, gross and disgusting. The sheets in the master bedroom were all pilled. The comforter on the bed was ripped up, old and gross. Had to put it aside for the week. The towels were old, small and some had stains. I would highly recommend that if you stay here that you bring your own linens. The hall bathroom had a purple painted piece of wood that seemed to be covering up a hole in the blue wall that was just nailed in there. Strange. The table on the balcony was broken, but they did bring another table the next day after I reported it.

I kept taking pictures of all the stuff that was broken or torn or stained just in case they refused to give us the deposit back.

All in all, based on the cost, it was an average value. In hindsight, I probably should have called them about the linens after the first day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeBPickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I searched VRBO for an affordable condo during Spring Break and found one at Sea Oats that was less expensive than a regular hotel room in Foley!! It was a 2/2 and SO spacious! These are older buildings and I am sure some units have been updated more than ours was but it was fine for us and I wasn't constantly worried that the kids were going to mess something up like I usually am in higher end places. Our unit faced the lagoon and my husband & son had a great time fishing for hours. The complex wasn't full when we were there but it seemed very family friendly. Be warned though, there are no elevators and there are 32 rather steep steps to the second floor so if this is an issue, steer clear. The outdoor spaces were neat and clean and though it was too cold to swim, the pools looked nice. We will definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I visited this place back in May and had some issues with the owner of the unit we stayed in but rated it 5 because of the location and closeness to the beach. We came here again from August 16 - 22 and the trip was fine but both times I rented Sea Oats I had bad experiences with the owners. They say damage was there that we didn't make and both times tried to keep our deposit. Two different owners from Sea Oats did this to us and we had to fight both times with the owners. The first owner was Pam from E104 and the second was Debbie from J building. The complex itself is nice. It's on the quiet end of the street and has quick access to the beach and the bay on back is really nice. I'm sad we aren't coming back to the complex because of the owners of these units.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kaybelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Oats Condos in Gulf Shores Al for our family vacation. The Condo was so nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable. We had a two bedroom and it was huge. The two pools were great and super clean. The walk to the beach was just across the street and the beach was nice and clean. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: It was a very quiet condo and very comfortable. Big and Roomy! We had six people and had plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

It's a great location between the beach and lagoon. My husband caught tons of fish a d crab off the pier on the lagoon. It's right across the road from the beach. Our storage closet already had a bunch of beach stuff in it. The beds were super comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The complex is great! Big large pools and I loved having both a bay and an ocean which is just 2 minutes away! Everything was clean and it's very quiet around the area! Which is such a plus! It's far enough away that it's secluded but close enough to grocery stores! It was our first time going to GS but we will be back!

The only problem was who we rented from. She screamed at us because she thought we had too many pets. She is very cheap. She doesn't give common amenities like toilet paper and soap. We didn't get our deposit back. She's mean. Who screams at their customers? Apparently this woman does. Don't rent from her! Rent from another! We've always gotten our deposit back. The condo is okay. It's kind of dirty, we had to scrub it clean when we got there just to feel clean!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Booked this condo thru VRBO. Owner Sherry is very easy to work with. Unit has MBR with king bed with flat screen TV and private bathroom and vanity. 2nd BR has queen bed with flat screen TV. 3rd BR has two sets of bunk beds that sleep 4 kids. LR has nice leather couch and love seat and with flat screen TV plus a wet bar with games under it. DR table seats 6. Kitchen is huge and great quality appliances. The is a nice deck off L shaped LR/DR that faces out onto lagoon. Spent every morning and evening relaxing there a bit before going out to one of two piers to fish. Every evening schools of speckled trout passed by and made for some fun action. 4 nights I fished until 1 AM. Complex has docks which are free but are first come first served. Also has two nice pools but kids only used it once. Beach across road from complex is not crowded. Unit also gives you access to a ground floor storage bin with lots of beach toys and chairs. Only negative is stairs up to unit. Some 2nd floor units have a wench with laundry to bring up groceries.

We will never stay anywhere else when we come to Gulf Shores.

Room Tip: I my opinion, units facing little lagoon are worth the extra bit of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
44 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seacrest
Seacrest
#17 of 24 in Gulf Shores
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gulf Shores Surf & Racquet Club
1.8 mi away
Linsco Village by the Gulf
Linsco Village by the Gulf
#21 of 40 in Gulf Shores
14 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunchase
Sunchase
#28 of 40 in Gulf Shores
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Oats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Oats

Property: Sea Oats
Address: 1872 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6072
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Oats 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Oats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Oats Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing