We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Family Vacation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Shores Plantation
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

This was our second year at the Plantation. We love it. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed. The pools and hot tubs were clean and we used all of them but one that was under construction, but it's nice to see it being upgraded. The view was spectacular. We will be going back year after year with our children and extended family. So much for the kids to do and see they were never bored. If you go bring lots of sun screen even in April. Suggestions for places to see Fort Morgan civil war tour, The Hang Out Restuarant in town, great for kids and very good food.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmarchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    116
    43
    32
    17
See reviews for
197
65
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

We stayed at the Gulf Shores Plantation January, and February 2009. (Building 3) The condo was fantastic.

Our unit was clean, and modern. It had been recently remodeled, and had everything we needed to be comfortable. The built in washer and drier saved us a lot of money. The owner we rented from was great.

The condo complex was another story. They advertised many pools, and hot tubs. The truth is only one pool was open. The other pools and hot tubs were closed for maintenance? They must have needed a lot of repairs, as they were closed for the entire months of January, and February. (And are probably still closed)

I wanted to use the Wi-fi to upload photos for processing. What a joke that was. Their Wi-fi should be called "Slow as you go" it was almost totally useless. If you want to send an e-mail, it may or may not work.

We received an envelope in the mail, (The Photo's I couldn't upload) The front office called to say we had mail. They then stated I was not to have mail delivered there. (What's up with that?) They have a mail sorting station, but I guess it is only for looks. The desk clerk failed to give a good reason why we could not receive mail there. They did give me my envelope, and were courteous.

The beach was excellent. Getting to it was not. The sign stated, "Keep off the dunes". That's kind of hard to do, when the boardwalk is buried under the dunes.

I would recommend this complex, only if you don't need a swimming pool, hot tub, or Internet service. They were maintaining the buildings, and grounds the entire time we were there. The staff was courteous, and they seem to be trying.

We feel the management could do a lot better job.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EndUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHI-GSP, Mandoki Hospitality, Inc. Management at Gulf Shores Plantation, responded to this review, March 20, 2009
We are sorry for any inconvenience experienced by Up_Up_And_Away, jk506 and joefish during their recent stays at Gulf Shores Plantation.

Four whirlpools and one outdoor pool were closed as required by the Federal Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act. The Act requires public pools and whirlpools to be equipped with new drain covers. The anti-entrapment devices are backlogged because of high demand and design difficulties. Installation orders have been outstanding for months.

The following facilities have been open to all guests at all times:
• Indoor heated pool
• Five of six outdoor pools
• Two whirlpools

The wireless service is working but experiences slow response occasionally during heavy demand.

High winter winds caused sand to accumulate over the boardwalks. Contractors have cleared all boardwalks for convenient access to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

We read several reviews after booking and were apprehensive about what we would get, especially in #2204 (Rob's Condos). We had a great oceafrontview, the beach was very clean, it was so peaceful. Sure is was 12 miles back to town-but we didnt cometo hang out there. The complex was getting someearly seasonal maintenance so not allmpools and jucuzzis were yet open. The complex still needs some painting outside-but overall is ws good. Our unit was clean-and had all the items we needed. It was smaller than we expected, but we did not pay alot and had a bechfront unit which was a great plus. Rob called us twice to confirm that we would be pleased. . The unit itself had tile in the main areas, the carpet could haveused upgrading , the bathroom was small-but the unit had only 600 square feet. Ifyou want luxury-then this is the not .the place for you. I would not put more than two persons in #2204. A lot of retired people here-they were such a joy to visit with.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Up_Up_And_Awa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

Booked a room with indoor pool, it was not, on arrival the toilet had pubic hair on the rim, and food crumbs on the refridgerator, housekeeping came and cleaned, the tv was snowy because we were at the end of the cable line??? The jacuzzi that was in the building was out. Manager Jim want to switch rooms for another $100....finally a manager who was on vacation changed our room to the indoor pool, but still the jacuzzi was out...The Plantation is 15 miles out of the main town, very quiet...check to make sure everything is working, because the front desk people didn't know the jacuzzi was out

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marta_akmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

We are staying here for the month of February. I love the location. I love that this area is more secluded and my kids have the whole beach to run and play on. I love that there are not so many people out here that it is difficult to find my kids amidst the crowds. We are really enjoying biking around, playing tennis, the kids' golf area, and the indoor pool. Fantastic!

The complex itself does show its age, but that does not bother me, there is plenty of fun to be had. I do think we rented a unit that was not as well taken care of as others. The lesson here would be, do not rent a unit off VRBO that does not have positive feedback from other guests. I will no longer rent anything that doesn't have feedback.

The only other thing I would consider about this complex is that it is advertised as having WiFi in all the rooms. My husband was counting on this in order to work from home. Two days he was attempting to work, the internet did not work at all. Most of the other days the internet was so slow, he wasn't able to use it with his work's system. THis means running to coffee shops or tethering to the cell phone. Given that there will be more people here in the summer, I'm sure it would be worse then. Just a note in case this is important to you.

Overall, a fantastic trip. I love the ocean view, the landscaping is great, and there are a ton of activities for young families!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jk506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores AL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

This place has a lot of potential to be a great resort, but it seems the owners are reluctant to do needed repairs. 3 out of 5 hot tubs have been closed for 2 months, and one of the open ones is not hot. I am told this is because of the new hot tub law but other resorts seem to be able to make the needed changes and have their hot tubs open again.
The phone system here was replaced last year and has been terrible ever since - dropped calls, crackly sound, data (such as entering PINs via the keypad) not getting through. Today my phone has been out all day. The Wi-Fi should be advertised as LOW-speed internet, it is only slightly faster than dialup and stops working about once a week.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

If you are looking for a cheap place with reasonable amenities, this place will suffice, but if you like nicer things, luxury vacations, and pay attention to details, DON'T COME HERE! The whole place is very poorly maintained. the whole place needs a paint job badly. From the pictures on their web site the place looks great, but up close and in person, it's awful. There is rust on every things that is metal. There is paint chipping off everything painted. The elevators are old and slow. Don't plan on BBQ here they say there are BBQ's through out, but they are really horrible. They are just sitting there beside the trash cans. There is no place to sit and eat nor set down the food while cooking. I visited every hot tub and they were all on the verge of disgusting. There was sand and grit in one. Someone had put soap in another and it bubbled all up when you turn it on. There had been a storm and the stairs on the boardwalk were completely gone. it had nails and sharp broken boards sticking out and when you get down to the beach you throw your stuff off and then jump off... trying to avoid rusty nails and stray boards. This problem still had not been fixed 10 days after it happened.
It rained for a while, the ceiling leaked right on the bed. I called the owner and they said they would inform maintenance. No one ever came to fix it. We left 2 nights early because it was supposed to rain and it was no fun to stay in our crowded leaky room, and gas is to high to ride 15 miles back and forth to go to town to do something.

  • Liked — lots of pools and hot tubs to choose from
  • Disliked — maintenance desparatly needed paint chipping rust everywhere. clean up. MAINTENANCE!!!!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cbsopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHI-GSP, Internet Marketing Coordinator at Gulf Shores Plantation, responded to this review, October 14, 2008
It is unfortunate that cbsopinion did not have a good experience during her September visit.
Her trip was subsequent to Hurricanes Ike and Gustav, which caused damage to boardwalks and beaches, etc. Some repairs have been completed and others are underway.
Gulf Shores Plantation has received overwhelmingly favorable response from guests and owners of condominiums alike for the quick recovery efforts. Contractors will be completing boardwalk repairs in a short time.
The beaches are safe and assessable and nature has quickly replaced some of the sand taken out by these storms. Gulf Shores Plantation is blessed with very wide beaches and exceptional setback. This helps maintain healthy dune structure and rapid natural rebuilding of beaches.
Gulf Shores Plantation has been a favorite family destination for over twenty-five years and is continually maintaining and improving for all to enjoy. You are encouraged to visit the Plantation and witness for yourself the natural beauty this property has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
9.4 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
13.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
13.2 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Shores Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Shores Plantation

Property: Gulf Shores Plantation
Address: 805 Plantation Rd, PO Box 1056, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-3244
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#7 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mild temperatures, gentle breezes and the South's most spectacular sunrises and sunsets make Gulf Shores Plantation a destination for all seasons. Located on Fort Morgan Peninsula and featuring thousands of feet of uncrowded beach, the Plantation offers accommodations that include studio to 3-bedroom condos and 3-to-5-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Shores Plantation Hotel Gulf Shores
Plantation Gulf Shores
Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing