We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs maintenance. Wonderful beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gulf Shores Plantation
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Nails sticking up out of board walk caused two in our group injury. Toliet in bathrooms in pool area run continuous. Wind made awful whistling noise constantly on broken seal on windows. Got no response to any of these reports over our 7 day stay. Thankfully kids really enjoyed beach. Beautiful location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelleysmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 399 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in building 3 - the pool outside that building is great for kids - has a wade pool that extends into a 4 1/2 foot pool with whirlpool.

My family & I stayed at Plantation Gulf Shores via Meyers Realty this past weekend. First off on Friday we only got 10 channels. Called Meyers Sat morning, yes they are having a cable issue and will send someone out. Saturday evening at 6pm is when the cable guy showed up. The remote was no longer working, called Sunday morning, cable guy showed up at 6pm Sunday evening. Air conditioning quit... working Sunday night, called Mon morning and 4 more times throughout the day with a final recommendation (at 4pm) that we could move to another apt in another building (we were checking out the next morning). I have 2 small children and during nap time on Monday the apt was 80 degrees.
So far the response from Meyer has not been acceptable - a full day response from each call to them? And the response to the A/C issue - we could move to another building for 1 day at a discounted rate? Are you kidding me?
We love staying at the Plantation Gulf Shores, but the next time the reservations will not be made thru Meyers! HomeAway.com will be the way we go next time!!

Room Tip: Building 2 and 3 are situated with the combo wade/swimming/whirlpool. Do not use Meyers - check ou...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Greatskinnywrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in Unit 1153, which has another 1 star review on here. There was a smell to our room, but I woul guess it was because the unit had been smoked in. The strange thing was that I got worse as the went on. The complex has two pools, both with 6' foot depth, so my tweens liked that. Only a couple of minutes to walk the boardwalk to the beach. Bring your own chairs and umbrellas, because they charge $50 per day for two chairs. Watch for Blue Angels practice every morning around 10:30 or 11:00. It is about 12 miles back to Gulf Shores. Only 15 minutes, so it did not bother my family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LO_Dragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

At Gulf Shore Plantation it is a very nice, cleans, and the beach is private so you and your family can have it to yourself. Make sure to get everything you need before you check in ex.( foods,drinks,ect) because its 13.5 mi. To the main road.

Room Tip: Beach view is the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We returned yesterday from a 4 night trip and had a great time! Highlights include:

* Our condo in Plantation East was everything the YouTube video said it would be. The one bedroom unit was the perfect size for the two of us and in close proximity to the beach.

* We brought our own groceries for breakfast and lunch and had a nice dinner in Gulf Shores - Nolan's and King Neptune's were real standouts! Ocean's Pizza delivered to the room; pizza and calzone were hot, on-time and really good.

* The boardwalk was our saving grace for hauling supplies to the beach. Post Labor Day was the perfect time to go; great weather and no crowds.

* The Plantation is a beautiful 13 mile drive from Hwy 59 / Gulf Shores. The entrance is hard to see at night. Clock .6 miles after the well-lit Beach Club entrance and the Plantation is on your left as the road curves.

* Kudos to the cities of Gulf Shores and Orange Beach for their Beach Warning Flag system (http://www.gulfshores.com/things-to-do/beaches/warning-flags.aspx).

Some minor reasons we don't give Plantation a 5-star rating are:

* Housekeeping: couple of light bulbs that needed replacing

* Electronics: batteries dead in TV remote, cable TV and DVD weren't setup properly

* Facility: starting to show a little wear and tear: sliding glass doors wouldn't lock, front door needs replacing, some rot on balcony siding

We enthusiastically recommend Plantation for a low-key getaway. If you call, be sure to talk to Joanne who works the afternoon shift!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheNewDaysDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We rented through Meyer Real Estate and the price was very reasonable. The property is old, but fairly well kept. We stayed in building 2, and the condo was not luxurious but it was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed. I had an ocean view from from my room and from the small balcony. There was a pool right outisde of our building that the kids loved. They also enjoyed the indoor pool, which also had a very large hot tub. The game room is very small and only has a few games in it, but the kids went to it twice. The location is a good ways from town, but the upside to that is the beach was not crowded at all. We had a great time crab hunting at night. We never had to wait for the elevator. The Connections cafe on the property has average food, and really good Starbucks drinks. For the price, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have rented a "beach cottage" (if you can call a 3-5 bedroom house a cottage) from Gulf Shores Plantation twice. Both times the property and the resort have surpassed our expectations! This is not a "five-star" kind of place--go to The Beach Club down the road if that's what you want. Our cottages have been clean with nice furnishings and working appliances. Gulf and Golf, the largest of all the cottages, books up a year in advance--it is right on the beach and has beautiful views. Okay, so the other reviewers are right...Gulf Shores Plantation has GOT to fix the sad little workout room. Make it bigger and better and stop getting dinged on Trip Advisor for it! The staff at Gulf Shores is great. I almost had to take my son to an urgent care center, and the security guard could not have been nicer and more helpful. Turns out if you eat half of a rotisserie chicken by yourself, you might have bad stomach pains (he is 17)! A little Zantac and some Tums over a half-hour did wonders.

Room Tip: Best to choose a room in the condo's with a video preview or one that is recommended by others a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CST2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
13.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
364 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,231 reviews
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
259 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#12 of 25 in Gulf Shores
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Shores Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Shores Plantation

Address: 805 Plantation Rd, PO Box 1056, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-3244
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#7 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range: $102 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Shores Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mild temperatures, gentle breezes and the South's most spectacular sunrises and sunsets make Gulf Shores Plantation a destination for all seasons. Located on Fort Morgan Peninsula and featuring thousands of feet of uncrowded beach, the Plantation offers accommodations that include studio to 3-bedroom condos and 3-to-5-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gulf Shores Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Shores Plantation Hotel Gulf Shores
Plantation Gulf Shores
Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing