We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gulf Shores Plantation
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here August 9,2013 - August 16,2013 and enjoyed every minute of our stay. This was our second time here, and it was even better than the first. They have security when you enter the grounds, which are huge. They have six pools, and nice boardwalks leading to the beach. The beaches have white sand, protected dunes, and clear water. You can see dolphins off the shores between 6:45-7:30am, I even saw a hammerhead shark in mid calf deep water, it was awesome. The cafe serves Starbucks, and the small fitness center is nice. Best part is friendly happy guests and breathtaking sunsets.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DawnScott08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We began vacationing at the Plantation during 2010 and have returned many times since then. This is a nice slice of natural beach environment unlike the places that call themselves beach front but are mostly concrete parking lots and steel towers.
None of that at Plantation and that's why we come here. You can rent from the Plantation itself or from the many owners that rent their units directly.
Research the property you are going to stay in and never forget that 'you get what you pay for' so if it sounds too good to be true pricing, it probably is too good to be true.
We don't know what we like best, the thousands of feet of private beach or the multiple swimming pools or the many tennis courts, or the indoor pool, or Kiva Dunes golf course next door, or so many amenities you cant list them all.
We are fans of Plantation and will continue to vacation there for decades to come.

Room Tip: Ask for current pictures or video of the units you'd like to rent. Some owners haven't upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bradbrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We really enjoyed the condo. The view was better than we thought it would be. The beach was great when it wasn't raining. Lots of little fish, sand dollars, hermit crabs, rays, dolphins and birds of all sorts. We nearly saw a hammer head shark, but were 20 minutes late. The free movies were great during the rain. Put Put, shuffle board, pool and spa were wonderful. We enjoyed eating at the Sassy Bass just a couple of miles toward Fort Morgan. We want to come back to walk the Bon Secour Wildlife Preserve. This was not our first trip here and won't be our last.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor of West building. #1243 is in the middle. To get a room closer to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Gulf Shores Plantation for 6 days in a timeshare condo. The condo was generally clean, but the bed spread was filthy dirty with some weird stains on it. So I took off the comforter and replaced it with one of those generic hotel blankets. The blanket was falling apart. It looked like somebody had been eating it. The carpets were dirty and looked like they had not been vacuumed in months. So I cleaned, move furniture and found stuff that nobody wants to see.

The location was great. Although it was a fairly long walk to the beach. The beach was in good shape. There was some trash, but I guess that was to be expected.

We had the Blue Angels doing practice runs right over our beach. That was cool. And you can see the oil rigs, but that was kinda neat to see.

As we were digging in the sand, one of our vacationers came up with crude oil on his knee. But he was digging pretty deep. The pools were a nice change from the salt water.

This place is about a 20 minute drive to any grocery store or shop.

We went to the USS Alabama and that was a blast! Met a WWII Col. that was in the death march.

Overall not bad.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank linnabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend for our 33rd anniversary in one of the sunsuites. The distressed furniture was so cute I wanted to take it home with me. Georgeous view of the gulf on both sides of the suite. Short walk down the boardwalk to beautiful sandy beaches. Just a 10 minute drive to all the wonderful seafood restaurants and shopping in Gulf Shores and Foley. They provide a library with books to read on the beach and puzzles & board games for families during their stay, along with all kinds of outdoor activities like basketball and tennis and even free DVD rentals. We would highly recommend Gulf Shores Plantation and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The corner sunsuites of Plantation Dunes have wonderful views of the gulf and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

You really don't even need to leave the property. They have basketball, tennis, and shuffle board courts.
Free DVD rentals: You get a card at check-in and use it in a Redbox style machine. The selection is limited. They have some older stuff, as well as some new releases. We rented "Oz" but we also noticed "42" and some other newer stuff. You can't beat free. Tip: Put your card in before you look at the movies, because it'll show you what the machine actually has in stock, with the movies that have been rented grayed out.
Pools: The indoor pool was WAY over-treated. Made our eyes water and sting very bad. The six year old drank some pool water splashing around and jumping in (as kids do), and even just a sip made him throw up. My eyes were still tearing up half an hour later. It's big, and the water is the right temp, the room wasn't too cold, etc. But, yeah, that chlorine will get you. The older, small square pool (on the left of the lagoon pool facing the beach) was nice. It was warm even at night. But, don't recommend it for little kids or people who are not strong swimmers. It goes from 3 ft to 6 ft in a couple of steps. My nephew, who is 6 ft and I (5'9) were standing by the "5 ft" sign, and it was way over our heads. No shallow end. It's secluded though, and the nights that we were there it was pretty much deserted. So, adults looking to avoid the flocks of families and teens that frequent the other pools, this is the one for you.
The lagoon pool stays pretty busy, but not as busy as the two pools closest to the coffee shop. There were still families in it all the way up till it closes (11 pm). But, big enough that you don't notice. The deepest it gets is 5ft, so this is definitely the pool for families.

The coffee shop: It's pretty much a convenience store that also sells Starbucks and snack shop type food. Very pricey. It was $10 for a small Philly cheesesteak and some chips. No drink. We were right across the parking lot from them, so we just brought our own from the condo. One night, I got the family ice cream. 4 pints, an ice cream sandwich, and a fudgecicle type deal. $30. Yeah.

In the same building as the coffee shop is a little vending area, I recommend that for your snacking. It's more reasonably priced.

Also, in that same building is a library. It's an honor system. You borrow a book and bring it back when you're done. It's mostly romance and older books. Beachy-reads. Some mystery and crime novels. They also have jigsaws and a few board games in the cabinets to borrow.

We were in building three. We used the board walk to the beach that is right behind the coffee shop. It's an okay boardwalk, but big step off to the sand, it just kind of ends, no stairs. The kids jumped off of it. The showers are really low, and they are in sand, which makes no sense. I recommend using the boardwalk that is between the lagoon pool and the little square pool. The showers are actually on the boardwalk and have mats, they are better water pressure, there's a cubby area to put your shoes (at the other boardwalk, everyone just piled them by the end of the board walk so not only were you having to take the huge step down, you were having to navigate around shoes). There's also a couple of areas with benches so you can watch the waves without walking all the way down to the beach. And there's stairs at the end!

There's chairs on the beach, during the day you have to rent them for $25. For this you get the convenience of an umbrella and a cushion. You don't have to pay to use the chairs after the rental guy leaves (he puts the umbrellas and cushions up). Some days he was there until 6. One day, he was gone by 5. So, I think it varies. The beach is better in the afternoon, cooler, sun not so bright, and most of the crowd has dispersed.

At night, a lot of families go down to the beach to crab hunt. One night, my nephew, sister and I went down to the beach around midnight to watch the meteor shower. I was worried about encountering some rowdier people. But, it was mostly older couples and families watching the meteors.

I think most of the party-crowd go to the condos closer to the bars. Mostly was families and older couples that live there year-round. There was one instance where a group of young men were yelling obscene things down to people walking by and security was deployed almost immediately to put a stop to that.

Overall: I enjoyed it. I enjoyed not having to leave the property. There's a Wal-Mart about half an hour away, and we stocked up with supplies and groceries there. I liked being able to go off on my own, get a drink, enjoy the beach, and not having to drive. The teenager liked being able to go for runs, or go swimming without having to have someone go with him.

The condo we stayed in (3112) was clean and nice. One of the bedrooms doesn't have a TV. So, kids might not like sleeping in it. I didn't mind it.

Beaches were very clean, and everyone I saw was friendly. No complaints about this place.

Room Tip: Building 3 is probably in the best location, easy walk to the main office to get DVDs and sport equi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the Plantation Resort during our recent visit to Gulf Shores, and were very pleased and satisfied there. The entire complex is very secure, extremely clean, and very family-friendly. We had 3 generations together this trip, and everyone enjoyed our week there. The beach was clean and never crowded, same for the pools. Unlike some places we have stayed in the past, the Plantation appears to have sufficient space and facilities for the number of guests. In-suite laundries would be nice, but the public facilities were sufficient. If you are going to Gulf Shores to relax and enjoy the beach and outdoor activities, this is your place. If you are more the "touristy" type, then you might want to stay somewhere closer to the strip. We will definitly stay here again next time, and are happy to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
13.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
361 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,217 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#12 of 25 in Gulf Shores
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
255 reviews
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
13.2 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Shores Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Shores Plantation

Address: 805 Plantation Rd, PO Box 1056, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-3244
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#7 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range: $164 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Shores Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mild temperatures, gentle breezes and the South's most spectacular sunrises and sunsets make Gulf Shores Plantation a destination for all seasons. Located on Fort Morgan Peninsula and featuring thousands of feet of uncrowded beach, the Plantation offers accommodations that include studio to 3-bedroom condos and 3-to-5-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gulf Shores Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Shores Plantation Hotel Gulf Shores
Plantation Gulf Shores
Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing