We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wooded refuge.”

Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.50*
and up
Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge Kayak Tour
Ranked #6 of 43 things to do in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 6,000-acre nature preserve with a number of endangered species.
Greenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
256 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely wooded refuge.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were hoping to see some wild life at the refuge, but we did not. However the rustic beauty of the area and the quiet solitude on the day we were there allowed us to really appreciate our creator and the diversity of creation, from the white sand beaches, the pounding surf and the unique vegetation of the area. We are blessed to live in such an amazing and diverse world.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gmet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    62
    15
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great walking/running trails”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Our family walked/ran 2 of the trails in this park. Loved them! Great beach walk, with a relaxing walk through woods and a swampy area. A great, inexpensive activity.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Soccermom0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
220 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“nice trail, helpful park staff”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Located on Fort Morgan Rd. Several trails here, we took the shortest one - a one mile loop - at mid day, so not a lot of birds out. Did see heron and woodpeckers. Also a nice lagoon view. Trails are gravel and well maintained. Check in with the park office for access points and recommendations

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Plants no animals”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Decided to do the free wildlife refuge trail. It was nice just for hiking or seeing the plant life. Don't expect to see many animals, although you might get lucky, since wildlife is unpredictable. It was ok.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mich26379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss these great trails”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

My kids and I always look for trails when we travel and these don't disappoint. We walked the pine beach trail to the overlook and the Jeff Friend trail. Great places to let the kids run off some energy while looking at the flora of the area. We saw beautiful birds, bunnies and a great big owl. It's free and the trails are managed well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing