We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jim ‘N Nick’s BAR-B-Q

Jim ‘N Nick’s BAR-B-Q
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Gardendale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gardendale, Alabama
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I order drive thru every few months. It is very good and very convenient as it is across the street from the grocery store and only 2 miles from my house. I think their prices could be a little better for the quantity of food you get but I only go when I want to splurge.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carol41363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Alabama
Level Contributor
203 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stopped at this location due to traffic jams. The service and food were both good. I wouldn't say "very good." It was satisfying. The value was good as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mwb1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hopefully this was just a bad night?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The service was pretty terrible. I'll look past that, he said he was new. They were out of potatoes. Just out. Later when we ordered some meals to go for other people, we learned they were out of two more side items. When we got back to the house and opened one of the boxes, it looked like one of the biscuits had a bite taken out of it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrizzFan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just what we were missing in Sharpsburg GA. While in town visiting family, we ate at Jim N Nicks and had a wonderful evening and great meal!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
256 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very good food. All locations of this restaurant are consistent with regard to quality, taste, & serving size. The pork, brisket, chicken, & smoked sausages are about the best for a chain BBQ restaurant.
The sides (baked beans, slaw, mac 'n cheese, potatoes) are all very good, too. They have good collard greens but they could be better if the larger stems were removed.
Our service was a bit off with regard to getting seated (they had to wait until the computer told them where to place us & this was mid- afternoon & not busy) and the time it took to bring out the food.
But Jim 'n Nicks is always a very good place to eat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BusterYukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim ‘N Nick’s BAR-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Jim ‘N Nick’s BAR-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing