We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pull-up knob for the shower did not work. It was stuck...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gardendale
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gardendale
Reviewed November 22, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank JOHN K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 251 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The motel was great:! well located, clean, good food nearby,........... But the Football weekend was a bummer!!!!!!!!!---we lost the game!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank TAMMY F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank NANCY M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank DWAYNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Traveling with 2 of my husband's sisters for a girls' getaway to Florida, we stopped here for an overnight stay on our way down. The rest of our group left a day later, so it was just the 3 of us at this hotel.
We arrived after midnght sometime, and were quickly checked in. I asked for their best rate, and was told AAA rate was it unless we had a coupon. I thought, we're checking well after midnight, and told clerk we'd be gone early, yet she couldn't be nice enough to give us the coupon rate that we would have had if we'd picked it up at the rest stop?? Seems like she could have done that since we were only going to be there a matter of hours. Oh well.
So we got to our room which was ok. Nothing special by any means, but adequate. It wasn't really dirty, but it also didn't feel all that clean. The beds were fairly comfortable, there was a MW and Fridge as well. Didn't notice any excessive noise while we were there.
Upon stopping on the way out for the continental breakfast, we found very little to eat. Cereal, bagels, waffle mix/maker, coffee, sour OJ, apple juice, unrefrigerated milk, and that was it. There was a toaster, but no bread. My SIL had to go out to the car to get bread in order to have some toast. I had part of a waffle; not very tasty. No fruit, no pastries, no muffins, no cups until we pulled them out from under the counter. Worst of all, no concern from the desk clerk that there so little food stocked on the breakfast bar.
The place was ok, but I definitely would not stop there again. The price was way too high, even with AAA discount, for what we got. Ranks as a $45/night place at best.
The only plus; location was easy access on and off the highway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augerdogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

For a low cost, last minute option I was expecting the worst and was quite surprised. Other reviews reflect some cleanliness issues but I did not note any of those. The staff was friendly. The room was fine. I felt I got more than I paid for as I have stayed in MUCH worse for MUCH more.
The Good
Location - enough restaurants around and close to the Warrior Dash that we were partaking in
Staff - friendly and helpful

The Not As Good
AC was loud
Tile in lobby was cracked and needed attention

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor and, while I had a view of a hill, it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardendale
0.3 mi away
Best Western Gardendale
Best Western Gardendale
#1 of 2 in Gardendale
169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Fultondale
Days Inn Fultondale
#1 of 8 in Fultondale
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Fultondale I-65
12.1 mi away
Quality Inn Trussville
Quality Inn Trussville
#2 of 3 in Trussville
63 reviews
11.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#54 of 80 in Birmingham
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gardendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gardendale

Address: 850 Odum Rd, Gardendale, AL 35071-4618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gardendale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gardendale
Price Range: $95 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gardendale 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gardendale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Birmingham-North/Gardendale Hotel Gardendale
Microtel Gardendale
Gardendale Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing