We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel while traveling through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Gardendale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gardendale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My family stopped at this hotel on our way to Florida. For a one night stay, this is an adequate hotel. The rooms were very clean, however, the decor was very out-dated. Front desk staff was very pleasant. The continental breakfast was very basic but there was an employee constantly clearing tables and keeping the breakfast items replenished. The outdoor swimming pool was clean. All in all this was a good choice at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E4178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

The first room I was assigned smelled musty and the carpet looked very dirty. The woman at the front desk had one room left which smelled better but didn't look better. When I looked on their website, I was under the impression that the waffles would be 'homemade' and there would be other hot offerings. There was gravy that did not appear fresh and the waffles were along the line of Egos that needed to be toasted. When trying to checkout the man at the desk wasn't able to run our gift cards. When I went back to the desk to make sure I had his name when I called corporate he did give me the option of leaving the cards with my phone number on the back. The next person did call as promised and I was able to use the gift cards but it was inconvenient. The pool also did not open until 10 am.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dei0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 18, 2016

Thank you for staying at Best Western gardendale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Hotel was nice and clean. Beds were small but comfortable. Rooms offered refrigerator and microwave and there was a small breakfast in lobby Overall it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 18, 2016

Thank you for staying at Best Western Gardendale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed for two nights in early April 2010. Average, run-of-the-mill place. We had a king suite that had plenty of space for the two of us and our preschooler. Sofa pulls out into a bed, and there's a mini-fridge and microwave- musts for traveling with kids. The room was very clean, and the staff was professional. The continental breakfast did the job- toast, Danish, muffins, fruit, and biscuits and gravy. The location is a little weird.

Cons: poor tv reception, poor wi-fi signal in room (free but barely strong enough to even use). Also, the gym equipment needs updating. Several machines didn't work.

Still, we will stay here again. It served its purpose.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atlanta_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 9, 2016

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 205 631 1181.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your feedback


Sincerely,

Rhonda Gipson
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Gardendale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We recently stayed at this Best Western for one night on our way to Birmingham. The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially with getting our rooms switched to adjoining ones. The rooms were clean, the beds comfy. We booked the King suites and it was nice to have a couch to sit on instead of just the bed or desk area. The complimentary breakfast offered a variety of choices and there was plenty of food available. The location is right off I-65 but we didn't hear any noise from the highway at all. It is a quick drive to downtown Birmingham, about 10mins. The internet in the room worked well & fast. The business centre also worked well and we were able to print items.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 18, 2016

Thank you for staying at Best Western Gardendale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

My son's baseball team participated in a tournament in Gardendale. We experienced a pretty nasty storm during which the power went out. We stayed on the third floor. Only one of the emergency lights worked on the entire floor. The stairwell was lit by one light on the second floor. After about an hour, that light went out, and the stairwell was completely black! The power was out for 2 & 1/2 hours!

The next morning, I asked if I could get a discount because of the loss of electricity and the problem with the emergency lighting. The desk clerk was quick to inform me that the hotel didn't offer discounts nor did she have any control over the weather (like I wasn't aware of that!). When I asked about the emergency lighting, she again told me they had no control over those things! I think the Fire Marshall would disagree!

Our entire team had planned two more multi-night stays at this same hotel, but we changed our location after this stay. I contacted the main office, but I have yet to hear from them. If you decide to stay at this location, be sure to pack a couple of flashlights and extra batteries! (And the drink machine on the third floor didn't work, so we had to use the one in the lobby!)

On a positive note, the night staff was VERY helpful and friendly. The morning housekeeper also went out of her way to be as helpful and accommodating as she possibly could, and the rooms were clean!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 09BaseballMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 9, 2016

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 205 631 1181.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your feedback


Sincerely,

Rhonda Gipson
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Gardendale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

My father died Jan. 16 and my family stayed at the Best Western in Gardendale on the 17th. The Inn was very clean and well kept and the staff was very nice. I could not have asked for a better place to stay. When I go back to visit my friends I would not hesitate to stay at this Inn and would recommend it to anyone. The Inn was also near anything that we needed but was located by itself on a hill where there was no traffic.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 9, 2016

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 205 631 1181.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your feedback


Sincerely,

Rhonda Gipson
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Gardendale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardendale
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gardendale
3 mi away
Comfort Suites Fultondale
Comfort Suites Fultondale
#5 of 8 in Fultondale
41 reviews
4 mi away
Days Inn Fultondale
Days Inn Fultondale
#1 of 8 in Fultondale
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Birmingham North - Fultondale
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fultondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gardendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gardendale

Address: 842 Thompson St, Gardendale, AL 35071-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gardendale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gardendale
Price Range: $99 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gardendale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Best Western Gardendale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing