We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Gadsden
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Gadsden
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Tthis facility was very clean and comfortable.It had ample truck parking . The staff were nice and also very helpfull.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leone0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corf2301, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Gadsden, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

leone0311,

Thank you so much for staying with us. Please let us invite you to come and visit with us anytime you are in the area!

Thank you!

Leigh Corfman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 92 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2009

Do not stay here under any circumstances!!! The interior of the room was not clean, there was mold in the bathroom, the ceiling was cracked and sagging due to leaks from the upstairs plumbing, the front wall shook every time you shut the door. I have seen dog houses that were contructed better than this place. I have pictures to support all claims.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wagoneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Made reservations in advance directly through the hotel. After spending all day at a car show in the hot sun I was dragging butt at check in. I was told they would not honor my AARP discount because they were full. Judging by the amount of parking spaces always available no way that was true. The rooms were not clean, the bathroom needed caulking really bad, the tub had stains up the sides, the carpet was dirty. If you leaned while sitting on the toilet it would come off its mounting and lean with you. The toilet would not flush properly and the bathroom door would not close. The room had multiple flies, mosquitoes and gnats living there before I got there. This was probably due to the large amount of air space around the side and bottom of the outside door. I was told at check in that the breakfast would consist of eggs, bacon, waffles, pastry, biscuits, etc. There were waffles with butter and syrup, no eggs, bacon or biscuits. There was cereal and bananas. The only good things I can say is the water was hot and the AC was cold.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

We stopped here after a long day of driving, mainly because it was close to the highway, and at the exit before, all the hotels were full or outrageously priced. This one was not exactly cheap, but better than the prior exit.

We checked in to our room to find soiled/stained carpets, furniture Goodwill would not take, and a bathroom which had not seen a remodeling in more than a few years. It was not exactly dirty, but not very clean either. The grout could use a good cleaning, we suspect it is harboring more than it's fair share of bacteria! Since we both wear earplugs to sleep, we did not encounter the noise other folks reported, but HAD we wanted to sleep late, it would have been unlikely we could overlook all the diesel trucks starting up at 6:40 A.M.

The " DELUXE" continental breakfast was anything but, with a few pastry offerings( some of these were cheapy cinnamon buns cut up into smaller pieces), some cereal, and some eggs, sausage, and some biscuits. Everything except the biscuits was pretty sad, the "hot" items looked a little dangerous, as if they had been there a while. Coffee ran out before we got to it, and we had to return later to get a cup.

To their credit, the front desk staff DID speak good English, although it was obviously a second language for the owner. Check in took a while, since the computer system would not take my card at first, and only on the third try did it work. Check out was relatively fast, although, they DID nick me for the 1.50 "safe fee", which although they note is optional (in a sign on the front desk) , they still add UNLESS you ask specifically for them to remove it. I did not notice it until after i walked out, and was loathe to walk back in to get it taken care of. ( I suspect this is true 90% of the time!)

Would i go again? probably not.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaproth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

I stayed at this Days Inn with my mom so we could be in town for her to have surgery the next day. Since we had to check out before 6 am, we didn't sample the continental breakfast, but I did see that they had some stuff set up. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful in giving directions and answering questions about the area. They also accomodated my mom's need for a ground floor room (she can't climb stairs) The room was clean and quiet, and I felt was a good value.
The only thing that I hesitated about was the obvious construction material around the hotel. There apparently was some remodeling going on because there was paint buckets and building materials stashed under the stairs and around the perimeter of the property.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamz_rib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We'd been traveling for 9 hours & had tried hotel/motels for hours, but most were booked for the Taladega groups moving through. We stopped here because we were just so tired & needed to get off the road. At check-in, my dad asked for 2 rooms & was told, that'll be $120. Seemed like a good deal. I walked in just short of my dad giving the night manager his credit card & asked him what the price for each room would be. He said "I just told you - $120." I balked at this as it was apparent this wasn't a 4-5 star hotel - just some place off the interstate. Dad insisted we just go ahead & stay since he was so tired & I agreed. When we got to our rooms, I noticed that the headboard on one of the beds had slipped off the wall & was leaning against the headboard. I didn't want to get blamed for this, so I sent my daughter to tell the manager. He said, "What do you want me to do about it?" We later discovered the toilet wouldn't flush (no help from mgt), the remote wouldn't work (told by mgt - just hit it really hard, that should make it work), the light in the sink area of the bathroom wouldn't come all the way on - just flickered & buzzed (mgt said "leave the light off"). My parents' room wasn't as bad, but they said the noise coming through the thin walls kept them up all night and their toilet wouldn't work, either. Upon leaving, I stopped in to tell the manager that I was very disappointed in not only the condition of the room, but the rudeness I experienced when trying to get some of the issues rectified. I told him I'd never stay in his hotel again & we pass through there yearly. His response? "No problem, we still have plenty of other paying guests." AARGH!

  • Stayed: October 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooby9932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

After booking this hotel through Hotwire, I discovered at check-in that I would have paid less if I had just walked in or called the hotel directly. (Apparently I paid a fee to book through Hotwire and the advertised "hot rate" was the hotel's standard room rate). The other thing I discovered at check-in was that there were NO other cars at the hotel...besides mine and the desk clerk's. He told me that other customers would check in "later." Sure enough, there were a half-dozen cars when I arrived back at the room around 9:30 p.m. But during the night there was a lot of activity... room doors and car doors opening and closing, people talking in the parking lot... and the loud hum of eighteen-wheelers from the manufacturing plant that was less than 100-yards from my door. When I got up the next morning, there were again only three cars in the lot. Somehow all of those other "customers" had arrived late and left early...as in, during the night. (You can arrive at your own conclusions about this establishment and the kinds of guests that stayed there for less than $50 a night....)

But my biggest complaint BY FAR was that darn manufacturing plant and the endless streams of semi-trucks, whose loud, rumbling engines kept me tossing and turning on the sagging mattress.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank abbiesmom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gadsden
2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 13 in Gadsden
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 13 in Gadsden
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Gadsden Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gadsden / Attalla
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gadsden
Hampton Inn Gadsden
#4 of 13 in Gadsden
311 reviews
24.4 mi away
Days Inn Of Centre
Days Inn Of Centre
#1 of 2 in Centre
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Gadsden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Gadsden

Address: 1612 W Grand Ave, Gadsden, AL 35904-8229 (Formerly Garden Inn of Gadsden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gadsden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Gadsden
Price Range: $57 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Gadsden 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently updated our exterior and rooms. We have doubles and kings available, smoking and non-smoking. Our Continental breakfast is served from 7:00 am to 9:00 am daily, with fresh fruit, bagels, eggs and waffles made to order. Our staff is knowledgeable and friendly providing excellent customer service and descriptions of the local flora and fauna. Our pool is available during the warm seasons. We are conveniently located near both Hwy 77 and I-59 with restaurants and other amenities close by. Please come and let us provide you with rest and comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Gadsden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadsden Days Inn
Days Inn Gadsden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing