We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible rooms, RUDE manager & staff, WAY Overpriced!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Gadsden
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Gadsden
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We'd been traveling for 9 hours & had tried hotel/motels for hours, but most were booked for the Taladega groups moving through. We stopped here because we were just so tired & needed to get off the road. At check-in, my dad asked for 2 rooms & was told, that'll be $120. Seemed like a good deal. I walked in just short of my dad giving the night manager his credit card & asked him what the price for each room would be. He said "I just told you - $120." I balked at this as it was apparent this wasn't a 4-5 star hotel - just some place off the interstate. Dad insisted we just go ahead & stay since he was so tired & I agreed. When we got to our rooms, I noticed that the headboard on one of the beds had slipped off the wall & was leaning against the headboard. I didn't want to get blamed for this, so I sent my daughter to tell the manager. He said, "What do you want me to do about it?" We later discovered the toilet wouldn't flush (no help from mgt), the remote wouldn't work (told by mgt - just hit it really hard, that should make it work), the light in the sink area of the bathroom wouldn't come all the way on - just flickered & buzzed (mgt said "leave the light off"). My parents' room wasn't as bad, but they said the noise coming through the thin walls kept them up all night and their toilet wouldn't work, either. Upon leaving, I stopped in to tell the manager that I was very disappointed in not only the condition of the room, but the rudeness I experienced when trying to get some of the issues rectified. I told him I'd never stay in his hotel again & we pass through there yearly. His response? "No problem, we still have plenty of other paying guests." AARGH!

  • Stayed: October 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooby9932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 92 of 92 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2008

After booking this hotel through Hotwire, I discovered at check-in that I would have paid less if I had just walked in or called the hotel directly. (Apparently I paid a fee to book through Hotwire and the advertised "hot rate" was the hotel's standard room rate). The other thing I discovered at check-in was that there were NO other cars at the hotel...besides mine and the desk clerk's. He told me that other customers would check in "later." Sure enough, there were a half-dozen cars when I arrived back at the room around 9:30 p.m. But during the night there was a lot of activity... room doors and car doors opening and closing, people talking in the parking lot... and the loud hum of eighteen-wheelers from the manufacturing plant that was less than 100-yards from my door. When I got up the next morning, there were again only three cars in the lot. Somehow all of those other "customers" had arrived late and left early...as in, during the night. (You can arrive at your own conclusions about this establishment and the kinds of guests that stayed there for less than $50 a night....)

But my biggest complaint BY FAR was that darn manufacturing plant and the endless streams of semi-trucks, whose loud, rumbling engines kept me tossing and turning on the sagging mattress.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank abbiesmom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2007

After traveling for 9 hours and very tired, sleep was on my mind. Losing track of time it was 3:30 am when we checked in so 5-6 hours was all the sleep i was getting. Little did I know that other people taking their showers and flushing the tolit was something I would hear. I could also hear someone beating with a hammer, like they had to hang pictures at 9am. During this time housekeeping was on the ball. They came to the room TWICE to clean it. 8:30am and 9:45 am. Check-out time was 11:00 am. We left at 10:00am $66.00 less in my pocket, mad, and still tired.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trb37764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
ypsilanti,michigan
16
Reviewed April 24, 2004

My wife and i stayed at days inn in gadsden on highway 77 and airport road on 4-19 and 4-20 2004 with my two cats. when i called for reservations i asked for a room with handicap bars for my wife with refrigerator for her insolin. he only had a room for wheelchair people and none with just the bars to faciliate getting in and out of bathtub. the toilet was very low with no bar or aid of any kind. he said the only handicap room available tht he ever heard of was one where you pushed the wheelchair into the shower. the room was very smelly and he didn't use my triple A card for discount. i paid a $123.00 cash for the two nights. i been saying at days inn for 30 years and never ran into anything like this. on this trip a days inn at williamsburg kentucky with exactly what i wanted with handicap bars and toilet only charged me $98.00 for two days with my two cats which are very expensive cats and wife. i feel there should be either a refund or certificate to use at a different days inn in the future.i also needed to make a emergency call home and had to buy a telephone card from him.i would like to know what supervisor oked him as a days inn quality inn. this was a different name before becoming a days inn

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chesapeake, VA
17
Reviewed August 31, 2002

Very unhappy with my stay at the hotel. Was hung up on when trying to confirm reservations TWICE because the booking was incorrect. Treated very rudely over the phone by the manager and additional staff member. I was unable to make reservations elsewhere due to time constraints. During our 2 night stay, noticed there was no lid on the back of our toilet. Was unable to completely close the bathroom door. The floor (carpet) was not clean. I had two ground level rooms and was unable to park by the building. I had to ASK for my CASH receipt at check out, although I was given my credit card receipt at check in. (Both rooms paid for in advance for entire stay at check in.)

Thank goodness the attractions in Gadsden were pleasant (National Softball Tournament and Noccalula Falls). I will return to Gadsden as a visitor but never will stay at the Days Inn there again nor will recommend it to anyone.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: 111 direkt beim Parkplatz und ist ein Raucherzimmer man hört gar nichts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gadsden
2.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 13 in Gadsden
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 13 in Gadsden
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Gadsden Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gadsden / Attalla
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gadsden
Hampton Inn Gadsden
#4 of 13 in Gadsden
306 reviews
24.4 mi away
Days Inn Of Centre
Days Inn Of Centre
#1 of 2 in Centre
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Gadsden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Gadsden

Address: 1612 W Grand Ave, Gadsden, AL 35904-8229 (Formerly Garden Inn of Gadsden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gadsden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Gadsden
Price Range: $57 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Gadsden 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently updated our exterior and rooms. We have doubles and kings available, smoking and non-smoking. Our Continental breakfast is served from 7:00 am to 9:00 am daily, with fresh fruit, bagels, eggs and waffles made to order. Our staff is knowledgeable and friendly providing excellent customer service and descriptions of the local flora and fauna. Our pool is available during the warm seasons. We are conveniently located near both Hwy 77 and I-59 with restaurants and other amenities close by. Please come and let us provide you with rest and comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge Gadsden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadsden Days Inn
Days Inn Gadsden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing