We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Gadsden
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Gadsden
Durham, NC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disgusting.”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were booked there as part of a group. Immediately on entering our room, we noticed dozens of round black stains (about the size of a quarter) on the carpet. The bathroom wall between the toilet and shower was covered with black mold from the floor to the ceiling. It was gross.

We told the desk clerk that we couldn't stay in that room, and she gave us another. It was better, but there was still some mold on the grout around the bath tub. We also noticed exposed electrical wires leading from the wall outlets to the light fixtures -- it looks like they added outlets, and relocated the lights to accommodate the new outlets, but the way they did it doesn't meet code.

I'm finding the good reviews on this site hard to swallow. I've stayed in some pretty bad hotels before, but this was the only one that has ever made me actually fear for my health.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoGeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    25
    13
    21
See reviews for
30
19
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
heavenly rhode island
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I ran to this hotel after making a really bad choice at another..They were so kind to give me a discounted rate and because i stayed for almost a week, they discounted the pet fee and the housekeepers are awesome...The room was exceptionally clean, nice size and the beds very comfortable....Will for sure stay here again when in town....Thanks Days Inn Gadsden!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glassgirlvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I have been staying at this Days Inn for several years on race weekends. We find this hotel very nice and the staff is outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corf2301, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Gadsden, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
eddie k,

Thank you for your kind words. We strive to create an environment of safety, comfort, reasonable cost and superior customer service for all of our guests. We appreciate you chosing our hotel for your stay in our area and invite you back for another visit. Guests like you keep us motivated to continue to make improvements and smiles on our faces.

Thank you again,

Leigh Corfman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My husband and I attended this Day's Inn in 2010 - we booked our reservations almost one year in advance (we are Nascar fans and that's pretty much standard operating procedure in order to get a room near to the track) and our stay was fine. The outside of the Days Inn is a little old but all rooms had been upgraded. We decided that for the 2011 race, we would again stay here...clean rooms, close to the track...no troubles.

For this year's stay, we had been given a bit of a run-around 2 weeks prior to our arrival - wanting to bill my credit card prior to arriving - Corporate offices indicated that no, you don't do that, management commenting that the room rate was a on the "low side" - I had booked online a year prior and booked on the actual corporate site, not a discount hotel website....when we finally arrived from Toronto to Gadsden Alabama, we were told our room was not available. We were then shifted to Exit 183 (we were at Exit 181) to another Days Inn who would honour our reservation. This Days Inn looked better on the outside and was a much bigger hotel. However, upon entering the lobby, the smoke and musty smell hit like a ton of bricks. I'm a smoker, and the smell was noticeable to me! Our room was honored, our rate was honored and we headed to the room.

Our room was what I had originally requested - ONE YEAR EARLIER - non-smoking, king bed....however, the room was old and not very nice, there was a smell of mens cologne as if it were used as an air freshener...this exit from the interstate was not near any decent restaurants and we had to go back to Exit 181 if we wanted the amenities we desired.

Based on the fact that this we had a 2 day trip to get to Gadsden, Alabama, and were arriving on a Nascar race weekend, knowing full well that any room that may be available would be grossly overpriced, IF there were even ANY available is scary. We book a year in advance to ensure that we have a place to stay for the race weekend and in 2010 this place was fine. I would simply be leary about staying at this Days Inn again unless you are closer than a 16 hour drive away. You don't need to arrive and discover you have nowhere to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcygirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corf2301, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Gadsden, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Darcygirl,

I am so sorry that your experience was not what you expected. During race week, we do request that our guests reserve their rooms by pre-paying for them to avoid losing a tentative reservation due to the influx of race fans that wait until last minute to find lodging. This guarantees you a room and avoids any possible confusion.

Unfortunately for us all, the room that you had requested had some last minute plumbing issues that we were unable to resolve in a timely manner to provide you that particular king non-smoking room. We did try to accomodate you by offering a double non-smoking room or a king smoking room as that is all we had available for you. You graciously refused either of those options.

Our only alternative, according to Days Inn policy, is to try to accomodate you at another Days Inn that would honor your request and reservation. I am dismayed that your stay at that location was not up to your standards.

I would like to apologize for any problems that you had and hope that you will give us the chance to rectify the situation the next time you travel to this area.

Respectfully,

Leigh Corfman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gadsden hotels

Laurel, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Read 1 review before deciding to check it out. This review was incorrect and misleading as it described this Hotel as basically being a dump. My wife and I were very pleased at what we found when we arrived at the Hotel to check it out. The person at the desk was very helpful and professional as we inquired about the standards of the rooms that we had read about. She assured us their rooms were clean and everything up to standards. Well, she was absolutely right and we had a very pleasant and comfortable 2 night stay with them. The bed was a king size, brand new and very, very comfortable. The only thing we found that could use an upgrade were the towels, wash cloths and bed pillows. The towels and wash cloths were very course or rough to the touch and the pillows were too thin and flat. Besides these two things, our stay with Days Inn of Gadsden was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pop_Nana6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corf2301, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Gadsden, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Pop_Nana6,

Thank you for staying with us! Especially thank you for the nice things you said about your stay here with us. We strive to provide excellent customer service, a friendly atmosphere and reasonable cost. I'm sorry that you found our towels and pillows not to your liking. We will certainly change those items out as soon as possible.

We have recently updated our exterior with a new color scheme. I personally invite you to visit us again! It's guests like you that make our business a pleasure to be a part of!

Respectfully,

Leigh Corfman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We were trying to save money on the hotel for the weekend. The person at the desk was very nice. She even showed us two different rooms to choose from. All the rooms had new beds, but that was the only thing that was new. The carpet was disgusting and the tile floor was gross. Various stains on chairs and the walls. Smells came through the walls. Old cheap blanket/comforter. But when we moved to a different hotel for the second night, the manager only charged us for one night, even though we had already paid through the internet for two nights on a "nonrefundable" rate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachtn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corf2301, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Gadsden, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
rachtn05,

I am sorry that you had a bad experience. I am wondering if you have the correct hotel? We replaced all of the carpeting, updated all of the rooms (including furniture, beds, bed linens, and bathrooms) less than a year before your stay.

I hope you give us the opportunity in the future to change your mind about our property. We strive to give all of our guests a pleasurable, comfortable, restful experience.

Respectfully,

Leigh Corfman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We arrived at the Days Inn I-59 Exit 181 early in the evening. The night clerk was professional, helpful and very pleasant. He allowed us to look at the room before registering. The whole property was clean and well kept. You could tell the management took pride in this hotel. The room was spacious and clean, it had a large screen TV, small frig, coffee maker and microwave. Even though the hotel is close to the exit it is just far enough off the highway to be comfortably quite (no road noise). The A/C worked fantastic and we were able to get a welcomed relaxing nights sleep. The included breakfast was great, make your own waffles was my choice. Everything was fresh and tasty. Anytime our travels calls for an overnight in the Gadsden area this is where we will spend the night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corf2301, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Gadsden, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
crrhino,

Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the future. It is guests like you that keep the smiles on our faces!

Thanks again,

Leigh Corfman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gadsden hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 13 in Gadsden
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Gadsden Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Gadsden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gadsden
Hampton Inn Gadsden
#4 of 13 in Gadsden
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gadsden
2.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#9 of 13 in Gadsden
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Gadsden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Gadsden

Property: Econo Lodge Gadsden
Address: 1612 W Grand Ave, Gadsden, AL 35904-8229 (Formerly Garden Inn of Gadsden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gadsden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Gadsden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Gadsden 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently updated our exterior and rooms. We have doubles and kings available, smoking and non-smoking. Our Continental breakfast is served from 7:00 am to 9:00 am daily, with fresh fruit, bagels, eggs and waffles made to order. Our staff is knowledgeable and friendly providing excellent customer service and descriptions of the local flora and fauna. Our pool is available during the warm seasons. We are conveniently located near both Hwy 77 and I-59 with restaurants and other amenities close by. Please come and let us provide you with rest and comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Gadsden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadsden Days Inn
Days Inn Gadsden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing