We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait staff is SO LOUD!”

Mater's Pizza & Pasta Emporium
Ranked #11 of 112 Restaurants in Gadsden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wait staff is SO LOUD!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It was our first time there and we will not go back. Wait staff was super loud! They yelled loudly across tables to each other, we heard complaining about someone who had to bus tables when it was not her job. Pizza was decent--it was very thick crust which is not our favorite. Salad was ok until i hit a bite that tasted like soap. Once was enough for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParkandGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    9
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gadsden, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is good.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Pizza is great. Service is just ok. It took 45 minutes for our pizza to arrive at our table. Other than the wait pizza is great. Don't go if your in a hurry. Kinda of pricey, but you get what you pay for. Bathroom is small and was dirty. Maybe they hadn't cleaned it yet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Gadsden Tradition”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

You can never go wrong with Mater's pizza....especially the better boy! This restaurant has been around in Gadsden for years, try it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lgarner110809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great prices, okay food.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The pizza & sandwiches were just okay. Bathroom was dirty. Decent price for mediocre food. Won't be back. Several places in the area with good prices and better food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarBer1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastaboga
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good pizza; service and cleanliness, not so much”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our pizza was good---it was a nice change from chain restaurant pizza.The service was just ok. One waitress was very loud and uncouth, one stayed on her cell phone texting/surfing the net the whole time we were there. Although the health rating was 96, the longer I sat there and looked around, the more I got the feeling that the place just wasn't clean. Not really anything I could put my finger on, I just didn't feel confident that the place had gotten a deep cleaning anytime in the recent past. A male employee in the kitchen had a very shaggy beard that was not covered by a hair net. We will not eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mater's Pizza & Pasta Emporium also viewed

 

Been to Mater's Pizza & Pasta Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing