We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pets not allowed.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fultondale
Certificate of Excellence
Peebles, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pets not allowed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Although we are members of Marriott and use them as frequently as possible, the "pets not allowed" statement on their web page turned us off. We tried to stay there but no exceptions to the anti pet rule. So we went next door where we were comfortably accomodated with our small, 10 year old Boxer. Really too bad for older travelers that cherish and care for their pets.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerCruser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhoover, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our website. We do have a no pet policy and advertise it for the simple fact that many people have allergies and need to know for certain that a hotel is pet free or not when they travel. I apologize for the inconveniece this caused you during your visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    41
    7
    10
    0
See reviews for
49
26
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was a guest over the summer sometime this past June/July my family and I had an excellent one night stay! The rooms are very clean and service was impressive - your staff was very professional and friendly/courteous especially Consuela (front desk) was the best! Her attention to detail and ability to multi-task and maintain a good sense of humor was exceptional! Thank you :)

Room Tip: It's probably best to call ahead for availability! While checking in that night they had a few t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mybodybyviguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhoover, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel. We strive every day to provide excellence in service and product and always appreciate it when guest let us know that we are achieving this goal. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
247 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here for the last 3 years as we come into town to visit family. 3 years ago, this facility was nice and good enough, this year our stay was disappointing. The check in clerk was friendly enough although a little stressed as she sap she had a lot of people checking in at once. The lobby was about a 3 out of 5. Not the worst, like a motel 6 but not up to Marriotts standards in our opinion. There was a stale smell and the carpets are showing signs of wear. There was someone sweeping in the lobby but the pile of trash remained in the corner as we walked by it twice over a period of 30 minutes. The room felt dingy and just gross when we checked in. We had something called a spa suite unit (my husband said) which included a nice size jacuzzi that the kids liked taking a bath in. The mattress was horrible and so were the pillows. I simply can't say how we couldn't wait to go to bed, sleep and wake up so we could leave. We are Marriott fans and after leaving here drove to Columbus, MS to visit more families and checked in to another Fairfield Inn & Suites that was impeccably clean and was the standard (in our opinion) by which all others FFI should strive to mimick. In conclusion, instead of staying at FFI in Fultondale on future stays, we will make the 20 minute drive and stay at Embassy Suites in Hoover.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jelbeangrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhoover, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We offer our sincere apologies to you and your family for the uncomfortable experience you had at our property. There is nothing more rewarding than developing a lasting relationship with our return guests, and we have been extremely fortunate to retain several that have become family here with our staff. It deeply concerns us when we read a review like this, and want you to know that we take extreme measures to ensure customer satisfaction to the highest of Marriott standards. Even as much as an isolated experience such as yours we put in a lot of effort and resources into the continuous development and training with our staff to ensure the best service possible one customer at a time. We are also entering our six year renovation period this month and are excited to be upgrading our furninture, carpet, wallpaper, and breakfast facilities. We have also upgraded our entire wired and wireless internet system that will allow our guests to run up to six different devices in their room with the most state of the art speed and security features available on the market. We plan on this technology, interior and extrerior upgrades to meet and even exceed expectations for our customers. We are extremely proud to be able to offer these new services based on our thriving sucess in our market. I hope that you decide to stay with us again in the future, and give us another chance for your accomodations.

Byron Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Hubs and I stayed here for one overnight. We were in town for a funeral, and this FI was very convenient to where we needed to be. The staff were all very attentive, friendly and courteous. I would certainly stay here again and again. Absolutely wonderful bed, so clean and perfect. EVERYTHING about this place gets 5+ stars from me (and da hubs)

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elainegstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhoover, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel. We pride ourselves for providing excellent service and product and are always appeciative of comments such as yours. I will certainly share your comments with our team. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was here for a quick overnight stay. Had the suite on the end since there were four of us. Staff was friendly and breakfast was good. Clean enough, and no problems. Good choice for getting off and back on I-65.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rec531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhoover, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to critique your experience at our property. As far as your check in experience, we will investigate and research the way our billing procedures and credit/debit card authorization process was communicated with you. When we check our guests in, we follow strict Marriott procedures and let our guests know that we authorize the credit/debit card for Room and Tax. There is also an automatic hold on the card for incidentals in case ther are personal charges to your room such as movies or items billed to your room from our Market in the lobby. This is not a charge, but a hold and in no way reflects any pre-determined accusation of criminal activity. We feel it is necessary to let our guests be advised of this hold for for customer service related inquiries since this hold may appear to be an immediate charge to their checking account balance. We feel that this information at check-in can be beneficial to our guests in determining their best payment options, and we feel that they should have the right to be informed.

I will make sure that this verbiage is properly communcated by our front desk agents, as we have had proven success with this policy and others based on our excellant scores and return business time and time again.

I want you to know that in everything we do, it is in the best interest for our customers and guests, and I hate to read about such a bad, isolated expereice such as yours. We take full responibility for this occuring and will make sure that it will never happen again.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Byron Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Property is newer with more modern floorplans in the lobby, breakfast and room areas. Not as frumpy as other older FI's.
I liked my room and especially the A/C and fan--nice sustantial noise to sleep by, not irritating.
I was very irritated though that the clerk said my CC would be pre-charged with an additional $30-40--which is it 30 or 40--to cover potential damage/room charges. How outrageous--I do not appreciate being pre-condemned and treated like a criminal. I asked the clerk why that was done and she responded as if it were normal--not to worry it won't be charged unless needed!!! She said all hotels do this--I told her I stay a minimum of 80 nights annually in all types of hotels and this is the first to do it, including Marriott brands and including hotels in this same area. I may never stay here again just because of this policy--there are other options. Even though it is my company CC and no skin of my nose, it is the principle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Phaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhoover, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to critique your experience at our property. As far as your check in experience, we will investigate and research the way our billing procedures and credit/debit card authorization process was communicated with you. When we check our guests in, we follow strict Marriott procedures and let our guests know that we authorize the credit/debit card for Room and Tax. There is also an automatic hold on the card for incidentals in case ther are personal charges to your room such as movies or items billed to your room from our Market in the lobby. This is not a charge, but a hold and in no way reflects any pre-determined accusation of criminal activity. We feel it is necessary to let our guests be advised of this hold for for customer service related inquiries since this hold may appear to be an immediate charge to their checking account balance. We feel that this information at check-in can be beneficial to our guests in determining their best payment options, and we feel that they should have the right to be informed.

I will make sure that this verbiage is properly communcated by our front desk agents, as we have had proven success with this policy and others based on our excellant scores and return business time and time again.

I want you to know that in everything we do, it is in the best interest for our customers and guests, and I hate to read about such a bad, isolated expereice such as yours. We take full responibility for this occuring and will make sure that it will never happen again.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future
Byron Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazoria, TX
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel is fairly new, with clean accommodations. Room was good sized, with a king bed and small sofa, coffee table, and desk. Also included is a refrigerator and micro-wave. The bathroom is also good sized. There is a wall mounted air-conditioner just below the window, with a thermostat that controls it on the wall in the room. Unlike several hotels I have stayed at recently, you can select to have the A/C fan run continuously, which helps maintain an even ambient noise level in the room. That is very much appreciated for a good nights sleep.
Front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Since we had to leave before breakfast was open in order to catch a flight, we were able to take with us anything that had been set out already, which was appreciated. There is a computer and printer available in the lobby which was convenient for printing out boarding passes.
The hotel is about 10 miles from the airport, and is an easy drive on I-20 and I-65. It is located in a quiet area, close to several restaurants, including Outback Steakhouse and Full Moon Bar-B-Q.
We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: None of the rooms face a highway, so either side is not bothered by traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhoover, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments as we work very hard to achieve that level of guest satisfaction on a daily basis. Thank you again for your coments, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fultondale
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Fultondale I-65
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Fultondale
Comfort Suites Fultondale
#4 of 7 in Fultondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Fultondale
Days Inn Fultondale
#1 of 7 in Fultondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fultondale
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gardendale
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fultondale Birmingham North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65
Address: 1795 Morris Avenue, Fultondale, AL 35068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Fultondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fultondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Birmingham Fultondale/i-65
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/i-65 Hotel Fultondale
Fairfield Inn Fultondale
Fairfield Fultondale
Fultondale Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing