We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our room came with a knife.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Fultondale I-65
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fultondale
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
Level Contributor
1 review
“Our room came with a knife.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our room was very dusty. There was a knife sticking out under the bed. It was a lock blade and had screwdriver parts on one end. It looked deadly! The internet was so slow it was like going back in time to dial up internet!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hornets777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Birmingham / Fultondale I-65, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hornets777 I would like to apologize for not living up to your standards ,at Hampton Inn Fultondale we make it our business to make sure every guest is satisfied with their stay. In fact we guarantee it I have located your reservation from the online survey you also filled out and have adjusted one full room night off your credit card! You should see this credit reflection in one to three business days. I hope the next time you are in our area you give us a second chance. If you are please call me direct on my cell 803-447-9655. Kareem Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    62
    28
    20
    12
See reviews for
101
77
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Headed north toward projected bad winter weather and not knowing what we might encounter, we did not make an overnight reservation in advance. We were about 45 minutes from Birmingham when I called the hotel direct to check for availability. Tracy took my call, looked up my HHonors number, quickly made the reservation, and answered my question about any restaurants near the hotel (we were tired driving and were hoping to make just one stop). We arrived inside the hour and there was Tracy with the keys ready and the welcome information that the heat and lights were turned on in our room. Nice follow up! Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast well tended and tasty. And we were delighted with the Outback Restaurant right next door... just walked across the parking lot. Easy on and off the highway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceD18703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here headed north in a blinding rainstorm. We were a little hesitant because of lackluster reviews, but were glad we chose this Hampton. The building was clean and smelled fresh. Our room was very comfortable--great bed. There was a mix up on rates, but when I pointed it out they quickly corrected it. Breakfast was above average for a "free" breakfast. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is between an O'Charley's and an Outback with several other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palacegypsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were not clean, the service was not friendly, and the breakfast was not fresh. I did not feel safe at this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone. Stay away if possible! Any motel 6 is on the same playing feild as this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was our overnite location on spring break from Indiana to Florida. Got there late due to traffic, but was booked in quickly to a courtious staffer. Place was clean and breakfast was consistent with all other Hamptons. Well lighted parking lot, close to restaurants and highway... Easy on and off. A nice location

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racelzok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I've always been a fan of Hampton Inn, but this experience has forever changed me from being a regular customer. NEVER AGAIN!

Checked in during a long ride home in March 2012.
Starting out, although they quoted the room rate of $99, by the time we paid fees and taxes and more, our bill was over $130. At Hotels.com, they tell you ALL the fees up front and that is all you pay. HUGE RIPOFF!

As to the hotel, the hotel and room were tidy, but badly in need of updates. Wall paper was outdated and bath tile was discolored and out of date as well. On the plus side, we were at the end of the hall on the second floor and all was relatively quiet.

As we were making a quick overnight stop, I needed to work and answer emails, etc. from my laptop. After trying for over 30 minutes to get online, I finally called the desk and was told that 'OUR INTERNET ONLY SERVICES 50 DEVICES AT ONE TIME', including iphones, etc. and told to try again later. LATER NEVER HAPPENED. I NEVER WAS ABLE TO GET ONLINE. I WAS NEVER ABLE TO WORK! I TRIED ALL NIGHT!

The next morning was no better. No internet service.

Deciding we needed to go so I could find a 'hot spot' to work, we stopped on our way out to have their free breakfast.

I was sorely disappointed to see NO COFFEE! NO HOT ITEMS! and no one else even in the breakfast area at 9am. They were supposed to serve for another hour but we were told they were all out of everything! They stated they were severely understaffed and just weren't able to do what was needed. INCREDIBLE!

NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyndy8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Although fairly new or recently redecorated, you'll find your basic Hampton Inn here, in a northern suburb of Birmingham. That means it'll be run by pleasant, friendly people; it'll be clean, quiet, safe and up to the Hilton property Hampton Inn standard with the usual "hot breakfast" that is a variation each day of an egg dish and waffles you make on a griddle (fun for kids to do). Crispy, greasy bacon some days, greasy mystery-sausage patty others; that Hampton Inn fruit salad, oatmeal (overcooked...more like a runny porridge) and "Ok" coffee every day.

There are no microwaves or fridges in the room unless you're lucky enough to get a "king suite". Their pillows are great but I've never been a fan of the hard Hampton Inn mattress - my husband loves them though.

They do not have snack shop items for sale at the front desk. But the property is alongside the highway and surrounded by restaurants.

Not special but delivers the expected business or family traveler expected standard.

Room Tip: Book a king suite if in your budget and they're available. We're Hilton Honors patrons but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highpocketsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fultondale
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Fultondale
Days Inn Fultondale
#1 of 7 in Fultondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Fultondale
Comfort Suites Fultondale
#4 of 7 in Fultondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Gardendale
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fultondale
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fultondale Birmingham North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Birmingham / Fultondale I-65? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Birmingham / Fultondale I-65

Property: Hampton Inn Birmingham / Fultondale I-65
Address: 1716 Fulton Rd, Fultondale, AL 35068-1669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Fultondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fultondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Birmingham / Fultondale I-65 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Fultondale! Come see why our guests give us high ratings and meet the friendliest staff in town! Enjoy our newly renovated hotel and all of the traditional amenities of Hampton Inn, including free hot breakfast bar and WiFi. Conveniently located near Birmingham in Fultondale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Birmingham / Fultondale I-65 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Fultondale i-65 Hotel Fultondale
Hampton Inn Fultondale
Fultondale Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing