We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aviation Museum”

United States Army Aviation Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The U.S. Army Aviation Museum maintains a collection of over 160 military aircraft, including one of the largest collections of military helicopters in the world. Approximately 50 beautifully restored, historic and one-of-a-kind aircraft, are proudly displayed both inside the Museum's 70,000 square feet of exhibit space and outside on the Museum's grounds. The collection includes many significant examples of early research efforts and developments in rotary wing technology and the evolution of the helicopter. Our public galleries represent the Army's involvement in military aviation from the beginning days with the Wright brothers and the early combat aircraft of World War I, up to the highly technological machines such as the AH-64 Apache and the UH-60 Blackhawk flown by Army Aviators today.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Aviation Museum”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

put together nicely, very informative, and many visuals for youngsters to keep them entertained while you read the history of aviation pertaining to Fort Rucker.Worth the trip!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKTravelingMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newark, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome aviation displays”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

After watching my brother graduate from Warrant Office training here, most of my family walked through the museum. It was 6 girls, ranging in age from 51 to 4 years old so we had a diverse age group. We all had fun! The building was open, bright and well-maintained. Admittedly, we didn't read the descriptions of the planes, but we all enjoyed looking at the scenes. Adding the soldiers and other props gave us a better sense of what could have happened in the time the planes were used. We enjoyed going inside of one of the planes and the kids loved "flying" a plane upstairs. The gift shop was a bit run-down and "average" but overall, the museum was a great place to visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A nice little piece of Army Aviation”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A very small museum, but a nice stop for a quick and informative visit. I would love to see the museum expand and include more aircraft, but you've got to come by and enjoy the hands on experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What is going on?”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We planned a visit to Ft. Rucker to see old aviation friends...an important part of our planning was to make a third trip to the Aviation Museum...we visited on a Saturday morning full of ideas about buying lots of gifts etc..,, gift shop closed, on to see the movie...theater closed, lights in Hall of Fame dimmed, could not read bios etc., not a soul around either at front desk or in exhibit area. Overheard my husband ask couple with young boys "would you like to know more about this aircraft"??? They were delighted.....it's a shame when a visitor has to become a docent! There is a wealth of aviation talent in the local area, why is it not being utilized? Yes, the museum is free, yes the displays are really great....so, what is going on and what happened to our Army Pride?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lots of aviation history here!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The entire timeline of aviation from the Write Brothers to modern day. Lots of fantastic planes and displays. Free attraction you should see if you are near Ft. Rucker.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DothanEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Army Aviation Museum also viewed

 

Been to United States Army Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing