We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was good”
Review of Riviera Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Foley
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed everything about our stay, except the fact that not once, but three times we had to kill roaches right next to the bed. I really did not like that. The roaches really upset me. I am scared of them ,and next to the bed. This has me really thinking about if we should find another favorite spot or not. Everything but that was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad R, General Manager at Riviera Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I will assure you that we implement a biweekly treatment for our property and apologize for any bug found in your room. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 251-9438600.


Sincerely,

Conrad R.
VM/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Riviera Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We paid for 2beds and only got 1. The room was good not enough towels and did not have a blanket. The pool was good but the breakfast buffet needs to have different food added.the staff was friendly and willing to try to help. When I got the receipt it had my name,confirmation number and a totally different amount that was paid. It had the wrong credit card number and the wrong address.i booked with Expedia like I always do.I had to call Expedia to find out the information I needed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianemms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad R, General Manager at Riviera Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I hope you enjoyed your stay here at the Best Western Riviera Inn. I would like to take the time to first thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs. I did get a chance to also review your other responses left on third party sites and our Medalia page. On behalf of my staff and I would like to apologize for you only getting one bed and not two during your stay. I will agree with our breakfast needing to be updated. As of this year we will be expanding our breakfast to a hot breakfast and also expanding the breakfast area to where the apartment-office space is now to double the breakfast area by at least two times. Giving our guest a much better experience and more enjoyable spacious area to eat and relax in the mornings. I sure hope in the future you will give us another look the next time you are in Foley or wanting to visit the Beaches of Gulf Shores or Orange Beach.

Thank you,

Conrad R.
GM
Best Western Riviera Inn
251-943-8600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James R L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Conrad R, General Manager at Riviera Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The room was very, very nice and clean. I had never stayed at a Best Western, but was surprized. The service was good but breakfast was just ok, it beats nothing. Waffle, cereal and yogurt,muffins. Good

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank CalvinT959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad R, General Manager at Riviera Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing Best Western Riviera Inn for your lodging needs. My team members and I appreciate your positive feedback and hope you will come back to see us again real soon. Once again thank you for staying with us here at the Best Western Riviera Inn.

Conrad R.
GM
251-943-8600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed 4 nights and was completely satisfied with the room and consider it an excellent value. From making reservations to check out the staff was excellent. I made an extension to the original reservation. That required a change in rooms and the staff found one near my first. All the basics of the room were covered: everything I touched or saw was clean, the bed was comfortable, the towels and washcloth felt good, hot water was always available, the shower head had a good spray, the lavatory area was spacious, it has a frig and microwave, there was a table and plug-in that could be used for computers and the wifi worked. The location of the parking and the outside stairs and room entry were convenient for me. The location of the motel was almost ideal for my stay.

I had 3 items which were minor for me. Two of the plastic things by which hangers attach to the rod came apart even though I think I had things gently. The lavatory in the first room drained slowly--it did drain however. I did not need to do laundry while there but observed it is in a covered breezeway that would have been unpleasant during the cool windy days I was there. It is possible there may be other laundry facilities inside.

The last 3 nights when I returned the No Vacancy sign was up so the motel was desirable to a good many customers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billhgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad R, General Manager at Riviera Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.


Sincerely,

Conrad Reimche
general manager
BEST WESTERN Riviera Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

When I checked into this hotel, I specifically asked again to confirm my reservation for a nonsmoking room. "Yes, it's nonsmoking," she replied. As soon as I entered the room, I smelled smoke, went immediately back to the office and was told that it is a nonsmoking room. Perhaps as of that morning, but not for any longer! She offered to put a machine in the room to clean the air, but we would not be able to be in the room while the machine ran...if Room 215 was a nonsmoking room, why would a machine be needed? It was only 4:00 p.m. and there were less than a quarter of the rooms occupied at this time, even though the hotel was sold out for the night. I was just getting over the flu, and spent the entire evening, after returning from dinner, coughing!!!! Our room should have been changed at 4:00 when I first complained. Another customer was told that she and her handicapped husband would have to stay in their assigned room on the second floor, because the rooms were assigned that morning. She was concerned about her husband walking up stairs to the second floor. Again no accommodations were offered to relieve the issue! What HORRIBLE SERVICE!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bykers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad R, General Manager at Riviera Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. All but five of our rooms here at Best Western Riviera Inn are non-smoking. During this month of March we get a lot of visitors for spring break and time to time they will break our policy of smoking in a non-smoking room. Guest do have to pay a $150.00 fine for breaking the signed agreement at check in. We do our very best to clear the smoke smell as much as possible if the guest does smoke in the room. The machine we use is a Ozone machine which breaks up the molecules in the air, then if time is available we dehumidify the room. During this busy season rooms do get booked early and often. We hold 2 handicap rooms which are on the first floor and have wide doors, chairs for showers and serve every need for our guest who may need assistance. On that night we had both rooms reserved from Best Western site to take care of the guest who requested a handicap room. We do apologize for any inconvenience that occured during your visit and the couple who was left with a second floor room, who very well needed a first floor room but was not available at the time.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience that Best Western Riviera Inn strives for every day.

Thank you for taking the time to respond.

Sincerely,

Conrad Reimche
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Conrad R, Manager at Riviera Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foley hotels
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Foley / Gulf Shores
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Foley
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Foley
Comfort Suites Foley
#5 of 10 in Foley
130 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Foley
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Foley
Hampton Inn Foley
#1 of 10 in Foley
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Inn

Address: 1504 S McKenzie St, Foley, AL 36535-1727 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Riviera Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Foley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Foley
Price Range: $55 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riviera Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riviera Hotel Foley
Best Western Foley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing