We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Motel”
Review of Riviera Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Foley
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    45
    27
    16
    20
See reviews for
59
31
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Childersburg, Alabama, Usa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The room was very, very nice and clean. I had never stayed at a Best Western, but was surprized. The service was good but breakfast was just ok, it beats nothing. Waffle, cereal and yogurt,muffins. Good

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CalvinT959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad R, General Manager at Riviera Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing Best Western Riviera Inn for your lodging needs. My team members and I appreciate your positive feedback and hope you will come back to see us again real soon. Once again thank you for staying with us here at the Best Western Riviera Inn.

Conrad R.
GM
251-943-8600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed 4 nights and was completely satisfied with the room and consider it an excellent value. From making reservations to check out the staff was excellent. I made an extension to the original reservation. That required a change in rooms and the staff found one near my first. All the basics of the room were covered: everything I touched or saw was clean, the bed was comfortable, the towels and washcloth felt good, hot water was always available, the shower head had a good spray, the lavatory area was spacious, it has a frig and microwave, there was a table and plug-in that could be used for computers and the wifi worked. The location of the parking and the outside stairs and room entry were convenient for me. The location of the motel was almost ideal for my stay.

I had 3 items which were minor for me. Two of the plastic things by which hangers attach to the rod came apart even though I think I had things gently. The lavatory in the first room drained slowly--it did drain however. I did not need to do laundry while there but observed it is in a covered breezeway that would have been unpleasant during the cool windy days I was there. It is possible there may be other laundry facilities inside.

The last 3 nights when I returned the No Vacancy sign was up so the motel was desirable to a good many customers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billhgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad R, General Manager at Riviera Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.


Sincerely,

Conrad Reimche
general manager
BEST WESTERN Riviera Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

When I checked into this hotel, I specifically asked again to confirm my reservation for a nonsmoking room. "Yes, it's nonsmoking," she replied. As soon as I entered the room, I smelled smoke, went immediately back to the office and was told that it is a nonsmoking room. Perhaps as of that morning, but not for any longer! She offered to put a machine in the room to clean the air, but we would not be able to be in the room while the machine ran...if Room 215 was a nonsmoking room, why would a machine be needed? It was only 4:00 p.m. and there were less than a quarter of the rooms occupied at this time, even though the hotel was sold out for the night. I was just getting over the flu, and spent the entire evening, after returning from dinner, coughing!!!! Our room should have been changed at 4:00 when I first complained. Another customer was told that she and her handicapped husband would have to stay in their assigned room on the second floor, because the rooms were assigned that morning. She was concerned about her husband walking up stairs to the second floor. Again no accommodations were offered to relieve the issue! What HORRIBLE SERVICE!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bykers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad R, General Manager at Riviera Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. All but five of our rooms here at Best Western Riviera Inn are non-smoking. During this month of March we get a lot of visitors for spring break and time to time they will break our policy of smoking in a non-smoking room. Guest do have to pay a $150.00 fine for breaking the signed agreement at check in. We do our very best to clear the smoke smell as much as possible if the guest does smoke in the room. The machine we use is a Ozone machine which breaks up the molecules in the air, then if time is available we dehumidify the room. During this busy season rooms do get booked early and often. We hold 2 handicap rooms which are on the first floor and have wide doors, chairs for showers and serve every need for our guest who may need assistance. On that night we had both rooms reserved from Best Western site to take care of the guest who requested a handicap room. We do apologize for any inconvenience that occured during your visit and the couple who was left with a second floor room, who very well needed a first floor room but was not available at the time.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience that Best Western Riviera Inn strives for every day.

Thank you for taking the time to respond.

Sincerely,

Conrad Reimche
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Foley hotels

Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is ok. We stayed one night and that was enough. Room was clean and size was decent with fridge and microwave. Breakfast was the bare minimum. The hair dryer hardly worked, I had to hold it directly on my hair to feel the air. Location was good, close to the middle of town and the outlet mall.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brit1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad R, Manager at Riviera Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again, as we have installed new hair dryers and have replaced the burner plate of the waffle maker. As of right now we also have in the plans to expand our breakfast facility, so we can cater to more of our guest.

Thank you once again, from our entire team here a Best Western Riviera Inn.

Conrad R.
GM

Conrad Reimche
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

was just okay would have preferred a hotel closer to the beach. Coffee was terrible. Had trouble with getting waffle maker to work on last day. Beds were comfortable. We were short towels qnd had to go to office to get them ourselves instead of them delivering to the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust74063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foley
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Foley
Super 8 Foley
#7 of 10 in Foley
216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 10 in Foley
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
3.3 mi away
Lewiston Hall
Lewiston Hall
#14 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Foley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Inn

Property: Riviera Inn
Address: 1504 S McKenzie St, Foley, AL 36535-1727 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Riviera Inn)
Location: United States > Alabama > Foley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Foley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riviera Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riviera Hotel Foley
Best Western Foley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing