We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed it”
Review of Waffle House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Waffle House
Ranked #61 of 121 Restaurants in Foley
Restaurant details
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I enjoyed it”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I've never been to a waffle house and my family thought it was time. Granted the place isn't that clean. 8 of us sat at the counter, but it was fun. I had waffles and grits. I loved them both. I tried my nieces biscuts and gravy and those were good too. The hash browns were yummy and our server was a lot of fun.

Don't go if you don't like a down and dirty diner. But if you like a little local culture, this is the place to be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linnabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    10
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Totally dysfunctional”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I usually don't leave bad reviews but this was a horrid experience for every customer in this location. Employees talking amongst themselves about being written up at the counter while groups of people just got up and left. Broken dishes on the cooking floor. Multiple eggs broken on the floor in front of the grill. No body taking orders or even speaking to customers. These are usually great little drop in places and pretty consistant for what they are. Bulldoze it down and start over.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anoldrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foley al
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“glad to say they cleaned it up”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

It has been renovated and cleaned up, so it does not smell like vomit anymore. Normal waffle house food. Waitress was not the greatest, but that can vary alot from day to day, shift to shift and location to location. It is at least clean now, or else I would not have eaten there at all- just went in to ask question about landscaping outside (have not been there in about two years due to the nastiness of it on prior visit).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethridge, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok, place for a quick bite!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was OK. The health rating was a little low but the food taste OK. I would not make a habit of eating here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
2 reviews
“The Service was GREAT”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

It was too cold in there the first morning we walk over to have bnch; but the service was GREAT. Location is perfect walking distance from the Hotels.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waffle House also viewed

 

Been to Waffle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing