We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service but so-so food”

Vallarta Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 120 Restaurants in Foley
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Mills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service but so-so food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate at this restaurant twice during a recent visit to Foley. The first night (Thursday), the place was packed. Our wait staff were attentive in spite of the large crowd but we were not overly impressed with the food. The preparation left a bit to be desired. Burned edges on the top of the salad bowl and a salsa sauce dumped over the burrito that detracted from the dish and taste. A wet burrito is one of my favorites and everywhere else i've ordered, it came with a red sauce - not salsa. The second night we visited was with a group of seven. It was not crowded and we were seated and served right away. I gave the burrito another chance and sure enough - I wasn't disappointed - the same crappy salsa - except the burrito tasted worse this time. I think we'll try another Mexican restaurant the next time to see if it's just us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaPanhandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerdale, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Love Vallarta”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have eaten at Vallarta about once a week for over ten years. We have always got great service, good hot food and smiles for the staff. We have taken dozens of friend to eat there and everyone loves Vallarta.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Standard Tourist Fare”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have eaten at several of their restaurants, foley , al included..I found the food to be rather bland, and not very special...I think they cater to tourist who may not want anything spicy or different..I have other Mexican Restaurants that are more traditional..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foley al
Level Contributor
147 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“not bad, just ordinary”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

service is very good, food is good but it's like any other americanized mexican restaurant, nothing wrong with it, just nothing special about it either

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
179 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Please, for the love of all that's good, go somewhere else.”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I understand that some people like overly-Americanzed Mexican food. And that's OK. But Vallarta's doesn't even do that well. Everything here except the salsa is overly bland, dumbed down Ameri-Mex for people who don't know better.

You'll do better to go to El Paso. Same style of food but with a little more flavour. Or better yet, make the longer drive to Fairhope and try La Cocina. It's the best, most authentic Mexican in Baldwin County, right up there with El Rodeo in Robertsdale.

You deserve better than this!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CrackedLCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vallarta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing