We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost”
Review of The Gift Horse

The Gift Horse
Ranked #46 of 120 Restaurants in Foley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in downtown Foley in a beautiful, historic building
Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Almost”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

From the outside, it looked cute. We love supporting the small business owner. That makes it fun on a road trip. Saw the big spoon, knife and fork outside and it made us stop. Once we went inside, it was a different story. We love historical places and this building was old. It had a lot of charm. The host sat us at a table and the decor looked like it hadn't change since 1980's and the food was eh. Nothing fancy and actually really didn't care for it. It was a buffet and wasn't tasty. The only reason I gave it an average rating because the building was unique and the staff was really friendly! The one server, she was all smiles and super friendly. You could see that she cared and was trying really hard to make you feel at home. She would have been perfect for Disney. The whole experience fell short and I feel bad for saying that. Really can't recommend the place nor will be be coming back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Floridatourist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    20
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch on Sunday and didn't realize it was $16.95. They didn't have many healthy choices so if you want some good comfort food come here. The apple cheese was delicious, and so was the tomato cheese, but honestly I left feeling like I didn't eat anything good for me. Almost everything was creamy or cheesy. Of course they had a salad bar but for the price I didn't want to fill up on salad. Loved the dining room though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roseofsharongardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Used to be THE place, now it is just "eh."”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I used to love coming here in the early 2000's. Now it has declined. They have some good dishes and the place is interesting visually. But for the price you pay, you might as well go get some seafood at the beach.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldivaofthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salty mush”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you like very salty over cooked food, you will like this. Some people seem to like it. It's just not my taste.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
179 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Step into another world.”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Eating at the Gift Horse is like stepping back in time. The buffet is served on an old wooden table, with silver serving equipment that belongs in grandma's hutch.

The food is very good, the service not so much. But even if you don't like it, it will be a unique experience. Also, it's pricey.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank CrackedLCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gift Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing