We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so Gelato”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gelato Joes

Gelato Joes
Ranked #3 of 7 Dessert in Foley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Here's their phone number 251-971-5637 and link to other info - they don't seem to have their own webpage www.gulf-shores-travel-guide.com/gelato-joes.html
south
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So-so Gelato”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

So excited to find some gelato after eating it in Italy. Gelato was displayed like I remembered it, but that's where the similarities ended. The gelato was gummy and lacked the freshness I expected. I do give compliments to the service though, extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigmomma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Foley, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
179 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Gelato is good here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I can't speak for the deli/quick serve type foods they offer, but the gelato is as good as I've had anywhere. I still prefer any of the two local custard places more, but I'd choose this before any area ice cream. The seasonally available Mardi Gras flavor is by far my favorite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrackedLCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food - a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Four of us went for lunch and ordered various items. All of the food was very good but $11 for a piece of lasagna and nothing else is pricey. The desserts were wonderful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

German Chocolate Cake to die for and was huge portion. Sandwiches are fresh and have a wonderful taste. Service was excellent, ample parking and clean. Fruit was fresh and delicious. I will eat here again and thoroughly recommend this olace. I didn't eat the Gelato but was told by many there how delicious it is, looked really yummy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deli plus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Soup-Sandwiches-Salad and a daily special entree, lasagna the day we were there. Order at counter, food brought to table by server. Several yummy desserts as well as many flavors of gelato to top off you meal. We were there at lunch time. Clientele was mix of local workers and snowbirds.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jiMaryG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gelato Joes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing