We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels authentic”

John's Gyro and Mediterranean Food
Ranked #34 of 118 Restaurants in Foley
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Feels authentic”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Turkish food prepared fresh upon order. Be prepared to wait a few minutes. Not too crazy about the balsamic dressing on the Greek salad, but loved the hummus, stuffed grape leaves, and spanakopita.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LauraAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Gyros We've Ever Had!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was about my third trip to John's and it definitely won't be the last. If you want fast food, go elsewhere--John's gyros are worth the wait. Seems he told me his Mom makes the Baklava; he himself made our gyros (try the lamb!). I've had their spinakopita (sp) and that's excellent as well.
The dining room is small, so it's not currently amenable for large groups; but while we were there, several people came in for take-out. If you are part of a large group, call ahead, order, pick up your dinner, then go sit in the nearby park, or outside under the trees, to enjoy your meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great gyro in Foley”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

First time here. My wife and i stopped by for lunch. Good gyro and fries. Good baclava. Quick pleasant service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SillyOlBearontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, Arkansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New location in Gulf Shores, AL...next to a souvenir shop with a purple octopus”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Needed to stop for some quick lunch and happened upon this place. I love gyros so I thought I would give it a try. Left my girlfriends in the vehicle because they thought I was nuts going in there. I got them to open there minds...they ended up ordering after seeing and tasting my gyro. I got a Hummus Gyro with cucumber sauce and a greek side salad. YUMMY..also tried some spinach pie..delish!! I would def eat there again..very friendly and nice folks..really clean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cg8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
179 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice little gyro stop.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

You wouldn't think Foley would be home to one of the more homely and tasty gyro shops around, but here it is... John's. They have a decent gyro that more than satisfies a craving (especially when you don't want to drive on to Mobile for something better) and a good Greek style salad.

It's a really humble little hole in the wall and all the better for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrackedLCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Gyro and Mediterranean Food also viewed

 

Been to John's Gyro and Mediterranean Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing