We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moldy Ceiling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Foley
Byhalia, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Moldy Ceiling”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in this hotel (9/29/12). We noticed something on the ceiling and investigating further, found the entire ceiling was molded. We went to the front desk and inquired if they had experienced water damage recently. Lo and behold they said yes and it was the room where we were staying. Why in the world would they place a guest in a room where they knew water damage had occurred without first checking to make sure the room was properly sanitized and clean. They did move us to another room, but did not offer to comp the room. We would not recommend this hotel, and we definitely won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Always check the ceilings and walls for mold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
This is of course one of the worst type of reviews we can receive. I assure you that I have no knowledge of any structural damage within my property. Please contact me when you have a moment to inform me of what room this leak is in. Thanks for taking the time to report what is clearly an unacceptable condition. Myself, the owner and all of the higher management strive to keep all of our hotels in the best possible condition. If we have a problem, we need to know about it to fix. I am extremely disappointed that a member of my staff was aware of this issue and did not report it.

I apologize for my failure in regard to this situation. Please follow up when time allows.

CS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    52
    27
    17
    16
See reviews for
72
40
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I picked this hotel because they were listed online as being "pet friendly". And they are. For a price. Upon checking in, I went over the charges with the desk person to be sure I understand what I was being charged and why. I was given one piece of paper that showed the pet charge, the room charge, the taxes, etc. and AT THE TOP, IT SAID, "TOTAL BALANCE DUE $105.84." AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PAPER IT SAID, "TOTAL BALANCE DUE $105.84." In-between those two lines was a confusing hodge-podge of subcharges, etc. I was also given a second, briefer summary of charges and it too said, TOTAL BALANCE DUE $105.84". Several times I asked the desk person if the $105.84 was indeed the TOTAL CHARGE and she assured me it was. I was using a debit card and I wanted to KNOW the proper amount to enter in my check book. When I checked out, I was given another piece of paper and it said "Visa payment $105.84 and TOTAL BALANCE DUE $0.00."

The room was okay. Nothing special but not bad. It was clean. There was a lot of foot traffic outside my room and it seemed the place was popular with traveling construction crews and the like as the parking lot was filled with work trucks both nights.

Nonetheless, when I got my bank statement and was balancing my check book, I noticed the charge for $105.84 and an additional charge of $21.60 for the pet fee. This mildly frustrated me as I had made several efforts to determine the exact charges at the time I stayed in the hotel. I decided to call and ask them to explain this to me.

The first person I spoke wth was a lady who didn't seem to understand anything I was saying at all. She had the GM call me back. It was apparent tht he was on the defensive from the get-go. I gave him my name, told him when I stayed at the hotel and which room I had stayed in. I then began trying to explain to him what was told to me the night I checked in and what the receipts said. However, the more I tried to explain to him why I was confused about the bililng, the more conescending and uppity he got. He kept saying the same thing over and over...."The $21.60 was for the pet fee." He absolutely refused to understand that when youi ask someone repeatedly and they tell you several times over that "THE TOTAL CHARGE IS $105.84"...YOU EXPECT THE TOTAL CHARGE TO BE $105.84. I told him he could dance around semantics all day but the final word was, intentional or not, the cost of the room had been misrepresented to me. He then began to tell me what was said at the desk that evening which I found fascinating because he had not been there. He got more and more condescending and snippy. I shouldn't have let him rile me but he did. I used the word "hell" once in regard to the situation, not in regard to him, and he accused me of cursing HIM?! He was now merely looking for any excuse the end the conversation.

Then, when I told him I would simply go online and write a reveiw of his hotel and explain my side of the situation, he accused me of threatening him. Threatening HIM??! Not complaining about the the check-in process of the hotel but threatening him! He obviously has never been really threatened. I told him it was my right to review the hotel online. He again repeated that I had threatened him. He is now pulling out all the stops to end this conversation and come away feeling justified.

Only once, late in the conversation, did he asked what I expected him to do about the situation and that query was done in a tone of disgust, not a sincere effort of making the customer happy. He never really explained to me why the receipt is so misleading and confusing. He never apologized for the misunderstanding. He never once sounded sincerely concerned with customer satisfaction. His soul purpose from the beginning was to attack my complaint.

Like I said, the hotel was clean. The room was okay but nothing special. A great many traveling workers seem to stay there but I won't ever stay there again. That will probably make the GM happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwc1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
It's always discouraging for my staff and I when in spite of our best efforts, we are slammed publicly and our hotel suffers because of it. Much thanks to Trip Advisor for allowing hotels the platform to reply and to all of you that have left such great reviews for our property. It is because of you taking the time to accurately describe our hotel and commitment to service that we are currently ranked as the #2 hotel in Foley Alabama. We're #2, We try harder!

The gentleman that left this review did not, in my opinion, accurately describe the events that took place. Briefly: This guest was offered by our hotel a rate that was over 60% off the regular daily rate. Kinda like the rate Captain Kirk offered on Priceline before he fell off the mountain, only better. We are pet friendly, for a one time $20.00 + tax charge, you can have Astro stay with you without having to sneak him in!

All of this was described to this gentleman upon check-in. He agreed to the terms, signed a registration sheet stating that he understood and went merrily along his way.

As stated by the guest, upon check out he was provided a completed invoice. The hodge podge that the guests states was in the invoice consisted of three charges. Two were room charges and one was the pet fee.

The next we heard from this guest was three weeks later, when he called the hotel and began to yell at the Guest Service Agent on duty. She came to my office and asked me to please help. I took the call and attempted to explain the charges one by one. At this point the gentleman began to yell and scream at me as well. What the guest describes in his review as getting riled up was in actuality him accusing my staff of lying and a name calling session that went on literally for several minutes. As for threatening my hotel, I'll leave that up to the reader to decide. Here is what the guest said to me.- (If you don't give me my money back, then I will trash you and your hotel all over the internet.)

Condescending, snippy? A little hard to be either when a man is calling you names and screaming in your ear for minutes on end. All I can do in that situation is remain calm, take the abuse and try to end the call. After wishing me to hell, thankfully I was able to.

Please come see us for yourself! We have so much to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maylene, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were planning to attended a football game in Mobile (Go Troy Trojans!) and wanted to eat in Gulf Shores after the game so we decided to look for a reasonable room in the area. We booked a suite through the ChoiceHotels.com website and had NO problems during our stay. Check-in was quick, the reservation was correct, the large room was clean with good bedding, and the extent of the continental breakfast was a surprise. We have stayed at higher priced hotels that had the same options for breakfast. The best thing about the property is it is across from the outlet mall, but for us it was the closeness to Gulf Shores. Remember our initial reason for staying in Foley? The property is five miles from the intercoastal waterway and another two miles to the white sand beaches of Alabama! Our trip from Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile took about forty-five minutes so even individuals looking to stay in the Mobile area might need to check out this property!

Room Tip: The suite we booked had two beds plus a pullout sofa. It was located directly above the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_E_in_Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose The Econo Lodge while you were in Foley. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to call me. The front desk would be happy to connect you to my office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Got there around 5:30pm, 2 adults 2 kids. On Thursday June 14. We booked on orbitz, checked right on in. Told about the breakfast in the morning. Very friendly check in. Everything looked clean around entrance. We had 2 queen beds on the 3rd floor. No problem with the room, clean sheets, floor, trash cans, tub, and sink were clean. We watch tv for a while then went across to tanger mall. It right across the street. Would stay here again.The pool was open but didn't get to use it since when we got back from eating the bad weather was to close. The breakfast in the morning was great. Clean all around, hot biscuit with gravy was good. The kids love the waffles. Mini muffins was good. No complaint here. Check out was done in 1 minute. 86.00 for the night.

Room Tip: 3rd floor didn't hear any noise and was told it stormed that night but I didnt hear it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Google Translation
You just made our day!!!! Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Good:
First I want to start off saying that this is the nicest hotel in the area that allows pets. We traveled with a small dog. The breakfast attendant was very nice and helpful. The evening desk clerk was friendly when we checked in. The pool area was well-kept and relaxing. Mattress was comfortable. Location was great! Near outlets, 8 miles from beach, close to dining!
Bad:
This would be a fabulous hotel if the rooms were cleaner. We found sea shells, ketchup packets, deodorant and other things under the chair,bedskirt, and behind the nightstand. The fridge had someone else's take out container in it when we checked in and when you opened the fridge door it stunk up the room. The sink mirror had not been wiped off. There were cookies or some type of food substance inside the air unit. When we notified the attendant she did nothing to fix the problem and just made a non-committal noise.

I would recommend sleeping with the fan on, to block out the highway and Waffle House noise or request a room with a pool view. We were awakened by weedeating at 7am one morning and the dumpster being emptied at 6am on the other morning.

Remodel at this location means, paint, curtains and bed spread and pictures. Bathroom has original tub/toilet. Which means it looks dirty but it is just stained up. This hotel could stand to purchase new pillow, new sheets and blankets. They are thin, older, and stained.

We paid $62 a night so we didn't expect fancy. If the room had been cleaner I would have rated it high.

Room Tip: Request a pool side room. The noise from the highway and waffle house was loud and we had to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michtraveler845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Great rooms, price is low, king sweet is great :] for those looking for romantic trips

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batka n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

It was ok. Of course, I'm used to staying in condo resorts when on the Alabama Gulf Coast, but this was a last minute trip. Room was clean, pretty average. The bedding was very thin, but they had plenty of towels and wash cloths which is rare these days in chain hotels. It is right across the street from the outlet mall, and about fifteen minutes from the beach. Oh, and the internet will randomly disconnect so watch out. Front desk was nice, but the housekeepers were friendly. They knocked on my door everyday to make sure I was stocked on plenty of coffee and make up remover cloths. Waffle House literally next door which helped when we arrived two hours late close to midnight with a growling tummy and road weariness. Hopefully I can plan more ahead of time and get back on the beach next time, but I won't rule this one out if I'm ever in a bind again.

Room Tip: You can see the parking lot from virtually any room, and the back right overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank slwiebe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foley
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Foley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Foley
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Foley
Hampton Inn Foley
#1 of 9 in Foley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
2.3 mi away
Lewiston Hall
Lewiston Hall
#14 of 24 in Gulf Shores
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Foley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 2682 S McKenzie St, Foley, AL 36535-3408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Foley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Foley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is located just across the street from the Tanger Outlet Mall. We have 82 rooms that include Suites and some with hot tubs. We have an outdoor pool and hot tub, free wi-fi. Free continental breakfast each morning, complimentary USA Today paper, In room coffee/tea maker, flat screen televisions, microwave and refrigerators in room and we are just seven miles from Gulf Shores beaches and other local attractions are just a short drive as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing