We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Italian!”
Review of Ricatonis

Ricatonis
Ranked #1 of 162 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Consistently Italian!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We try to eat at Ricatoni's every visit we make to Florence. Consistently delicious Italian foods made possible by lots of conscientious employees. Servers are usually from the University of North Alabama and they do a great job. The wood fired pizza is always delicious and is served promptly. We have ordered appetizers but the pizza is very filling and we usually have one of their freshly prepared salads. The ambiance is awesome as the restaurant is in a historically significant building. We have never had to wait on a table; however, it does get very crowded at night. Lunches are just as good. We would definitely eat here again - next time we're in Florence.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skylady158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    115
    55
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cheese Ravioli!! as well as Bread and spices with oil, that is DIVINE”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It is my future son in law's favorite restaurant. It is well known in the Florence area as the best Italian place in town. My daughter also loves Italian, so we hosted an engagement dinner for our families in the loft of this restaurant.
THE ATMOSPHERE: The loft comfortably seats 30 to 40. It was only for our families, and we were not looking for an impressive or especially elegant environment. This felt homey with its bookshelves and pictures of owners family. It feels as if you might be in someone's loft living room.There are some drawbacks to the loft. The restaurant itself has exposed brick walls and is attractive but to get to the loft you actually walk to the back, past a drinks station, large bins of ice and also trash being collected to go out the back door then you turn left and go up steep stairs to reach the second floor. These stairs are hard on senior citizens but once you get up to the next level, there are bathrooms and so everyone is well contained upstairs. I just wish the entrance to the party area could be improved. However I also realize that this is an old building and the space is what it is.
**Was also very surprised that they didn't offer sweet tea! This IS the south, ya'll!!!
THE FOOD: We had never eaten at this establishment but it was raved about by so many we booked the party without even sampling it. We had bruschetta and fried cheese served to start, as well as hot bread in a white paper bag with oil and spices. The bread and spices rival what I have tasted in Little Italy, NYC. Then we had a buffet with salad, chicken alfredo, cheese ravioli, and penne tagliattori? sp? offered. I really enjoyed my chicken alfredo but everyone raved about the cheese ravioli. When I joined others for seconds, the cheese ravioli was gone! For dessert we had a choice between the tiramisu and a Kahlua brownie with mousse and other chocolate shavings. It was delicious! The food did not disappoint!
THE SERVICE: The staff who worked there were always polite and helpful. I talked to several different staff members thru multiple phone calls, as well as made a visit the week before. I was always impressed by their service. The night of our dinner, Katie was a very helpful server and worked hard to make it a nice evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermom1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“HAVE to try it!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

First went to ricatoni's while living in florence in college over 10 years ago... I visit the area yearly and 9 out of 10 times i have been there this place is a must-stop!!!! Probably the worse thing you could get, but their Fettuccine Alfredo with chicken and peas........ augh! wish it were closer to michigan!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kre8ivejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eating Italian”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great food, wonderful wine and atmosphere to go with it. Hard combination to beat.
The upbeat tempo of the waitstaff, the bread, oil and seasonings prepare the diner for a delicious meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Favorite”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of our favorites. It's great food and good prices. It can be a little loud. I love this place during Handyfest week. Always great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucyPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ricatonis also viewed

 

Been to Ricatonis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing