We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Concern for Your Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Imagine That - CLOSED

Imagine That
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small local owned Bakery and Cafe
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Concern for Your Experience”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The entire staff was concerned that we should have a great experience. On a Tuesday night there was plenty of room for other diners, but some of those present seemed to be regular customers.
They are still working on the wine list, so the maitre d'hotel came to our table and reported on each wine available. We chose the house red, which was a vin de pays de Meditarranee at a very reasonable price.
A nice, relaxed pace. We had an interesting flatbread appetizer (I recall sundried tomatoes, olive oil, goat cheese), which we finished before the salad was served, which we finished before the main course. I hate it when they rush you at some places by serving the next course before you have finished the one you already had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Alabama
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Continental Cuisine in Florence”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The food was superb, service was great and the prices were quite reasonable. Really enjoyed the music the night we went, too. The person who wrote a long, rambling lecture about the evils of electronic cigarettes needs to get his or her facts straight. There is no smoke with an e-cig, only vapor that immediately dissipates. Studies have found only minute traces of nictoine in the air for a couple of seconds or less from an e-cigarette and NO toxic chemicals. Many people who use these devices don't even use nicotine at all. Anyway certainly no reason not to go back to a cafe as fantastic as Imagine That!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank flowerchild52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great good, atmosphere, and service”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This is in the old Sweet Magnolia location and is run by the couple who made the desserts for Sweet Magnolia. The new restaurant is very similar to the old. The menu has changed, but the food is still upscale. I had a salad with kale and the portobello sandwich. It was all delicious, especially the Asian slaw on the sandwich. Setting is pleasant: tables are covered with black table cloths and there is an outdoor patio.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernGirlFromAla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique and Delicious”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I loved the small, intimate atmosphere. I had a a lemon chicken sandwich on a soft ciabatta roll that was extremely moist and tender and grilled asparagus that was too die for. Service was cheerful and prompt. I will be going again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level Contributor
234 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Still as wonderful, but ...”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Food is still wonderful, try the grits with shrimp and sauce, or the pancakes with the house syrup or the bourbon burger. You will love them all.

Their various crème brulees are just exquisite.

The wait staff couldn't be better and more attentive.

BUT...

A patron at the bar and one of the waiters were smoking e cigarettes inside. They both hide them in their hands hoping no one will notice them.

Why is this a problem? They are inhaling nicotine and various other unknown substances from the e cigarettes, then exhaling them into the general atmosphere.

Nicotine, even in this form, is not harmless, and the EPA indicates initial research is finding other harmful substances in the smoke from these totally unregulated devices.

ALL smoking should be done outdoors, not in the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Temblor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imagine That also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing