We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to stay in Muscle Shoals area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Where to stay in Muscle Shoals area”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at this lovely resort in November 2013. It was my second time staying there, so I already knew to expect a beautiful property, excellent service, and southern hospitality. I was not disappointed. The rooms are comfortable, the food is delicious (in both bar and restaurant), and the large outdoor patio was spacious and warm because of the fire pits. The pool is incredible, the views are amazing. I grew up in Florence and am always impressed again with the beauty of the entire area when I visit, and this resort is in an excellent location. My visit to the spa, for a massage and manicure, was made even better by the amenities, such as the large Jacuzzi and the professional staff. I highly recommend this resort! In fact, I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    128
    38
    19
    15
See reviews for
105
196
20
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I love this property. The rooms are like the Marriots in much more popular destinations I have visited and bring their consistantcy in clean & spacious rooms, good restaurants & room service and pleasant staff. Great gym and pool area overlooking the Tennessee River. This is the spot I stay when coming to the Florence area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JoeNamathsLiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Went down for work and ended up staying there thru New Years had a ball frist they had it going on at Swampers resturant and lounge thenvthey had a concert over in the convention center which by the way was sold out. Everyone had a great time that night, found out it is sold out evrry year. Anyway the hotel was full but they managed to keep there i did not have to check out which was fantastic. The hotel employees always go out of their way to make each guest feel at ease and at home. Highly recommend this hotel for any kind of social, birthday party, wedding reception or anything else. AAAAA+++++

Room Tip: Try to come down for the month of July 4th they put on a firework show that puts the city's to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After the death of my father-in-law and having to put my beloved dog to sleep due to medical problems, I traveled to Florence, Alabama. Upon checking in, I explained that I did not need a room that would allow a pet, as originally planned, and then I became emotional because our dog always loved staying with us at this hotel. The receptionist was so caring and kind, as she could tell it had been a terribly difficult day. That evening when my husband I and returned to the hotel, a fruit, cheese, and cracker tray had been left in our room with a card that said, "We are sorry for your losses this past week. We hope that you enjoy your stay with us and get some rest! Your Marriott Family!" It was personally signed by the people who were there. There are not many hotels that will go above and beyond such as they did that day. Our family was so appreciative of the very kind gesture. Not only is the hotel beautiful, clean, and spacious, they know how to treat people as family.

Room Tip: Every room I have ever stayed in, in this hotel, has been excellent. I have stayed at this hotel ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baatraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Since we had a party of 21 for dinner, reservations were made last month to insure all couples would be set up at 3 tables facing the windows ... specifically did not want one long table for 21... we even stopped by around 3 pm on NYE to confirm and were advised all would be like requested ..when our party arrived we were directed to a long table set for 21 ..the service was poor ..some not getting drink orders or the first course as requested ..very frustrating !! Our meal did come out together and the food was delicious ... We did not appreciate being made to think our reservation request would be handled as requested ...and then arrive and were put where we had specifically requested not to be put ..in addition the New Years Eve party was oversold and there was only a few tables for 900 people ..most standing ..band was great. !! However Florence will not be our New Years destination in the future!!
Otherwise the hotel is lovely and our room was spotless and very comfortable mattresses ..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memphis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

...had to stay here on a recent trip. Only stayed one night but would definitely stay again. In fact I do not think I would stay anywhere else if I visited the Muscle Shoals/Florence area. I did not eat at this property, but had a few beers in Swampers which is the lobby bar. Staff was nice. Only complaint about the bar is that it did not have a foot rail and the tv above the bar was a bit too high (had to really strain your neck to watch a ball game from the bar). However, there was plenty of comfortable chairs in the lounge area. Nice lobby with a huge xmas tree as a center piece with a large fish tank display. Staff was courteous. Nice indoor pool with a hot tub, which was very relaxing. Room walls are a bit thin as I could hear my "neighbors" talk/tv, but that seems to be the industry standard. Bed was sufficient, you could tell it was not a top of the line mattress. I've definitely slept on better mattresses. Room movie was a bit pricey ($15) but was not my idea. The hotel was in the process of renovating half of the rooms. New mattresses would be a good idea. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The property is very well taken care of however the mattresses are very poor. We both had terrible backaches after trying to sleep on for two days. The mattresses are very cheap and are of very low quality. Mentioned to front desk personnel and they basically acted like they could care less what our issues were. Room 1310.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Florence-Midtown
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Florence
Residence Inn Florence
#4 of 11 in Florence
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence/Muscle Shoals
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 11 in Florence
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa

Property: Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
Address: 800 Cox Creek Parkway South, 10 Hightower Place, Florence, AL 36530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophistication and charm of Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa is matched only by the natural beauty of its resort-style setting. Our hotel in Florence, Alabama is: * Located in the state’s northwest corner * Nestled along the award-winning Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail * Set in the heart of the Tennessee River Valley, one hour from Huntsville * Less than two hours from Birmingham, Nashville, and Memphis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Shoals Hotel Florence
Marriott Shoals Hotel And Spa
Marriott Florence
Florence Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing